Sporting heroes 
are honoured

editorial image

The great and the good of the Angus sporting world were honoured at a special ceremony last week.

The 19th annual Angus Sports Award ceremony was held in Forfar on Thursday with accolades from Angus Council’s sports development team, in association with Angus Ahead, recognising the commitment, achievements and dedication of individuals and teams in our area.

Darren Burnett of Arbroath and District Indoor Bowling Club was named Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Auchterhouse Country Sports. Darren was the winner of the World Bowls Tour Indoor Singles Championships, represented Scotland at the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow where he won the Gold Medal in the Gents Lawn Bowls Singles. He then Won the World Bowls Tour – Super Bowl Pairs Championship and to win all three titles in one year is an outstanding achievement. Other short listed finalists were Drew Christie and Ryan Burnett.

Maria Orsi of Tayside Special Olympics collected the Sports Personality of the Year Award for People with a Disability, sponsored by National Oilwell Varco in partnership with Angus Disability Sport. Maria represented Special Olympics GB at the European Summer Games in 2014 winning Gold in 25m butterfly, Silver in 25m freestyle as well as being part of the medal winning 4x25m freestyle relay team. Maria was also selected as a Baton Bearer for the Queen’s Baton Relay in June. Other short listed finalists were George Gibson and Kerry Duncan.

School Sport Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Angus Active Schools, went to Jill Cassidy of Timmergreens Primary School who has worked tirelessly to promote sport and physical activity in her school. Jill leads netball in the school, transports the team to local festivals and leads a running club at lunchtimes. She is dedicated to retaining the sessions as a critical part of the school’s ethos. Jill also sits on the Arbroath Sports Association and her future target is to obtain the gold sportscotland school sport award. Other short listed finalists were Sarah Warden, Laura Sturrock, and Andrew McLaren.

Tayside Musketeers Basketball Club – Junior Women’s Team were Team of the Year winners, sponsored by Angus Community Sport Hubs. The team were first place at the top division of the Junior Women’s National League at the end of 2014 and won a place in the Scottish Cup Final. This was the first time a girls basketball team from the area had achieved this amount of success on a National level. Five of the team were selected for Scotland National Squads and the coach won the Development Coach of the Year, at the sportscotland Regional Awards. The Players also volunteer their own time to coach younger players. Other short listed finalists were Tayside Dynamos Powerwheelchair Football Club and Monifieth High School - S2 Giant Heptathlon Team.

The Service to Sport Award, sponsored by Dundee and Angus College, went to Eddie Wilmott of St Thomas Amateur Swimming Club. Eddie has been involved with swimming for over 30 years. He started as a timekeeper, moving on to become a judge, starter and referee. Eddie became a member of the Technical Officials Committee and has coached many participants to pass exams to become Technical Officials. He has been president of St Thomas ASC for 25 years but stepped down when he took up the role of President of the Scottish Amateur Swimming Association. Other short listed finalists were Laura Smith and Andy Robbie.

Young Sports Personality of the Year, sponsored by Radio Tay – Cash for Kids, went to Anna Sturrock of Forfar Sailing Club. Other short listed finalists were Sophie Smith, Joel McFarlane, Olivia Waddell and Sarah McKenzie.

Club Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by Special Olympics Great Britain went to Dorothea Jackson of Strathmore Rugby Club. Other short listed finalists were Murray Duguid, Grant Hutchison and Bob Cassidy.

Colin Christie of Montrose & District Athletics Club was named Coach of the Year, sponsored by KLM Partnership Chartered Surveyors. Other short listed finalists were Scott Haxton and Colin Gillan.

Angus Council communities vice-convenor Councillor Jeanette Gaul said: “It is fantastic for us to be able to host the Angus Sports Awards ceremony to say a massive well done to our local sports volunteers and celebrate sporting achievements across the county in what has been an amazing year for sport across Scotland and Angus. We would like to thank all those who made nominations for the awards and all the sponsors who helped us stage this fantastic event.”