New amateur for United

ARBROATH United will welcome all rounder Gordon Reisima this season as their overseas amateur.

Gordon, who is from New Zealand, spent the last campaign at Edinburgh Accies but will return to Scotland for a stint at Lochlands.

United get their season underway on May 12 with a home match against Aberdeenshire.


Arbroath Artisan Golf Club

SUNDAY Sweep: entry, 82, CSS, 68: scratch to nine - A. Cromar (6) 66 (bih); R. Walker (5) 66; A. Burnett (9) 67 (bih); J. Shaw (8) 67: 10 to 13 - N. Gray (11) 66; B. Smith (12) 67 (bih); G. Robb (12) 67; I. Duthie (13) 68: 14 to 19 - D. Pyott (17) 60; P. Cairns (16) 65; Mathew Smith (14) 66; D. Blue (14) 67: 20 to 28 - J. Coull (23) 65 (bih); C. Frith (20) 65; C. McGregor (20) 68; E. Henderson (28) 70.

The first Tom Pullar Retirement Trophy takes place tomorrow (Saturday). Members are reminded that the last tee off time is 2 p.m. The prize-giving will take place shortly after the completion of play.

Ladies’ Section

10 hole Stableford, four club, Sunday, April 2, CSS: N/C – 1, M. Clarke (17) 21 points; 2, A. Innes (30) 20 points; 3, E. Shepherd (15) 19 points; 4, C. Beattie (22) 19 points.


Abbey Carpet League champions

THE FINALS of Abbey Bowling Club’s weekend carpet league were held last weekend, concluding another successful season.

Results were: singles final, Bob Tosh beat Bob Skea; knock-out pairs, Peter Speirs and Jean Graham beat Dave and Ann Whitton; knock-out triples, Jim S. Paterson, Ian Smith and Sandra Greenhill beat Len and Davina McGregor and Ella Moss; knock-out rinks, Sandra Greenhill, Caitlin Waddilove, Jim S. Paterson and Ian Smith beat Ken Philip, Don Matthew, David Proctor and Ali Burnett.

Nominated Pairs, Bob and Gertrude Skea beat Grant Ross and Linda Speirs; Nominated Triples, Sandra Greenhill, Caitlin Waddilove and George Ross beat May Smith and Bob and Gertrude Skea.

League winners were Team (1) comprising Grant and Helen Ross, Bob Tosh, John Sinclair, Jim Tosh, Jim Cuthill and Declan Johnston. Runners up were Team (2) made up of Jim and Doreen Thomson, Ian Smith, Jim S. Paterson, Caitlin Waddilove, Sandra Greenhill and George Bennett.

Gents’ opening day is tomorrow (Saturday). Those wishing to take part in the president v vice-president match should be in attendance by 1.45 for a 2.30 p.m. start.

This year’s officials are Dave Wilson, president; John Lowson, vice-president; Ron Webster, junior vice-president; Ken Tosh, secretary; Dave Beattie, treasurer; Jim Arthur, match secretary;

Brian Johnston, assistant match secretary; and Denis O’Neill, immediate past president.

The Ladies section officials are: Liz Lowson, chairperson; Alice Anderson. vice-chairperson; Margaret Croll, secretary; and Nina Sibley, treasurer.

Lynn Whammond , Marie Welsh and Sheila Geddes make up the match committee.

The ladies’ opening day is on Saturday, April 14, with a 2 p.m. start.