Rebecca is Scottish champion

Rebecca in action
Rebecca in action

Angus Darts Academy player 11-year-old Rebecca Graham from Arbroath is the new Scottish Youth Singles Champion 2013.

The Arbroath youngster was in great form to win the event as she was the youngest player in the competition in the CISWO Club, Glenrothes, at the weekend.

Rebecca won the final in style 3-0 against Cody Hepburn from Renfrewshire.

The win also takes Rebecca to the top of the Scottish under-18 girls’ ranking tables and clinches her a place in the prestigious Winmau World Youth Masters 2013 in Hull in October.

In the boys’ event, Arbroath’s Alex Gibson (14) was beaten in the final 3-0 by Bradley Weston, Grampian, after a great run of victories during the day which included a last-16 defeat over Academy team mate, Jamie Roy.

Kyale Ross had a good run to the quarter-finals while Jamie Roy, Graeme Hamilton, Leon Gibson and Craig Johnston all made it to the last 16 and picked up some valuable ranking points.

There are six of the Angus Darts Academy boys in the top 20 in Scotland.

Arbroath Masters

On Monday evening upstairs in the Cliffburn Hotel 32 top players from around Angus will open the Arbroath Masters 2013 competition, sponsored by Angus Trophy Centre.

There will be 14 weeks of league competition with the 15th week being a finals day on Saturday, September 21.

All players should register in The Cliffburn by 7.30 p.m. and all must pay an initial £5 registration fee on Monday.

Monday’s fixtures are:

Blue League: Mark Thomson v Alan Lillico; James Bell v Alan Soutar; Derek Craig v Scott Strachan; Ryan Cobb v Andy Stott.

Red League: Willie Burness v Graeme Finnie; Ian Jolly v Mike Elder; Ally Forsyth v Gordon Will; Phil Gibson v Andy Wood.

Green League: Kevin Whyte v Michael Jones; Steve Green v Bill Stirling; Colin Watt v Clive Jones; Jon Davies v Henry Gray.

Yellow League: Bob Beattie v John Barr; Jamie Roy v Gus McRae; Barry Reid v John Noble; Danny Willox v Paul Fairnington.

All matches will be a race to seven legs 501.

For full details of the Arbroath Masters log onto the website at

Angus Trophy Centre Summer Darts League

Results from Monday, June 3:

Division One - Portcullis 2 4, Abbey 8; Commercial (A) v Newgate, pp; Millgate 5, Legion 1 7. Division Two - Bowlers 1 5, Cliffburn 7; West Port Bar 8, Corner 4; Tutties 0, Portcullis 1 12. Division Three - Legion 2 6, Ram’s Heid 6; Stag 9, Pageant 3; Station 6, Bowlers 2 6.

Results from Monday:

Division One - Portcullis 2 5, Commercial (A) 7; Abbey 9, Millgate 3; Newgate 8, Legion 1 4. Division Two - Bowlers 1 8, West Port Bar 4; Cliffburn 5, Tutties 7; Corner 5, Portcullis 1 7. Division Three - Legion 2 5, Stag 7; Ram’s Heid 5, Station 7; Pageant 4, Bowlers 2 8.

180s: C. Taylor, K. Balfour, M. Mathewson, C. Watson, E. Smith, D. Anderson. Low legs: B. Geddis (17), D. Cooper (16), J. Stramock (17). High checkouts: 138, J. Elliot; 116, J. Cargill

Fixtures for Monday, June 17:

Division One - Commercial (A) v Abbey; Legion 1 v Portcullis 2; Millgate v Newgate. Division Two - West Port Bar v Cliffburn; Portcullis 1 v Bowlers 1; Tutties v Corner.

Division Three - Stag v Ram’s Heid; Bowlers 2 v Legion 2; Station v Pageant.

A captains’ meeting will be held in the Abbey at 7.15 p.m. on Monday (June 17). A representative of each team must attend. Failure to do so may result in a points deduction.

All captains should note that results are to be sent by text to M. Shepherd on 07719160033 and not to the winter league mobile. Additional signings to M. Shepherd (Legion 2), B. Geddis (Commercial) or S. McCormack (Newgate) before 8 p.m. to be eligible to play that night.