Ram’s Heid are charity champs!

editorial image

THE RAM’S Heid 2A team won this year’s charity four-man team competition, defeating defending champions Burns Bar 1A 3-1 in the final. On the day there were seven participating teams due to a late call off from West Port Bar.

The groups saw Cliffburn 1, Station A and Ram’s Heid 2A draw each other in Group A, with Burns Bar 1A, Legion 3, Portcullis 1B and Portcullis 3A drawn in Group B.

Ram’s Heid 2A topped their group with two wins from two, leaving the Cliffburn 1 and Station A to fight it out for second spot and qualification to the semi-finals. Station A put up a valiant fight but succumbed to Cliffburn in a 4-0 defeat.

Burns Bar 1 indicated their intention to retain the trophy with three wins from three in the group stages, dropping only a single frame during this stage. A frame that proved costly for Portcullis 1B! Portcullis 1B fielded only two players in their opening match against Legion 3, yet earned a hard fought draw. A Portcullis derby match saw the 1B team take full points with a 3-1 win and with it needing Burns to win 4-0 against Legion 3 to force a dramatic one frame play-off for the semi-final place. Burns Bar 1 did take the victory but only by a score of 3-1 meaning Portcullis 1B exited the competition on frame difference.

The first semi-final saw Legion 3 take on Ram’s Heid 2A. Legion 3 started well in each frame but struggled to get over the finish line and Ram’s Heid won through to the final with a 3-0 scoreline.

Burns Bar 1A faced stiff competition in the other semi-final. Burns raced into a 2-0 lead and looked like strolling into the final. However, Cliffburn had other ideas and they got back into the match at 2-1. Unfortunately they went on to lose the next frame and exit the competition with a 3-1 defeat.

The final started off with John Fotheringham defeating Roy Middleton to give the Burns Bar an early 1-0 advantage. Tam Walkinshaw was then matched up with Steve Hamilton with Steve closing out the match to make things all square. Kent Mitchell played Graham Dunbar and looked likely to win the match but Graham dug deep and won to put the Ram’s Heid into the lead, 2-1. Phil Bowman was the Burns’ anchor man playing against Michael Bastow. Michael seized his opportunities and closed the match out for an overall 3-1 win for the Ram’s Heid.

This was another well contested final which could have gone either way, and the defending champions did well to reach the final again. However, Ram’s Heid 2A should be doubly congratulated for winning the competition two years out of the last three, a tremendous effort!

Thanks were extended to Richard and Brenda Jones of the Ram’s Heid for sponsoring the event and providing a bottle of spirits for the pool flyer held on the day, which was won by Dale Leith, Portcullis 1B.

Arbroath Seniors

The GM Properties Arbroath Seniors Event will be played on Saturday, April 7, at the Portcullis with a sign-in time of 11 a.m.

The entry criteria is that players must be aged 40 or over on the day of the tournament. This is the first time this event will have been held by Arbroath and District Pool League and it will hopefully be a success and will be continued in future seasons.

The races on the day will be wholly dependant on the entries received. As a guide, it is hoped the competition will start with best of five as a minimum.

Entry to the competition will be £5 per player. Entries (with entry fee) should be received no later than 7 p.m. at the Ram’s Heid on Tuesday, April 3, to allow the draw to be carried out that night. Entries should be in a sealed envelope addressed to the match secretary and/or treasurer.

Arbroath & District Pool League

Sidey Division One

Results: Portcullis (2) 1, Burns Bar (1) 11; Legion (1) 8, Legion (3) 4; Ram’s Heid (2) 11, Portcullis (3) 1; Letham (1) 4, Cliffburn (1) 8; Fishermans (2) 6, Railway Inn (1) 6; Portcullis (1) 10, Ram’s Heid (1) 2.

Division Two

Results: Cliffburn (2) 6, Bowlers 6; Burns Bar (2) 7, Fishermans (1) 5; Station 7, Legion (2) 5; Railway Inn (2) 5, Letham (2) 7; Stag 8, St Tam’s 4; Pageant 7, West Port 5.


League pool takes a break this week to allow the last 16 of the Consolation Cup competition to be played out.

The fixtures are as follows: Portcullis (3) v Railway Inn (2); Legion (2) v Legion (3); Letham Hotel (2) v Portcullis (2); Fishermans (1) v Station; Burns Bar (2) v Fishermans (2); Pageant v Railway Inn (1); West Port Bar v Cliffburn (2).

The Cup format is nine singles and four doubles. Sign in time is the normal 8 p.m.

Due to Burns Bar (1) being eliminated from the Knock-out Cup they are not permitted to parachute into the Consolation Cup, therefore Legion (1) have received a bye into the quarter-finals, which will be contested at finals day.

It is the responsibility of the home captain to text or ’phone the score to the match secretary upon conclusion of the tie.

Kelbie Metals Singles

The last 32 of the Kelbie Metals Singles will be played on Wednesday (April 4), with a strict sign in time of 8 p.m. Each match is best of five frames, lag first frame only, alternative break from then on. Referees are to be in place for all matches.

There will be four qualifier’s from each venue, who will then go on to contest the last 16 on finals day.

Controllers to text or ’phone the qualifiers to the match secretary.

The draw is as follows:

Burns Bar: Steve Hallam, Stuart Fraser, Lee Strachan, Steve Webster, David Williams, Roy Middleton*, Mark McGlashan, Craig Fairweather.

Cliffburn: Martin Cherry, Gordon Dickson*, Neil Davidson, Colin Brown, Alex Whyte, Stuart Smith, Bruce Wallace, Kevin Brown.

Legion: Gareth Ruxton, Gordon Smith*, Ricky Dewars, Greg Alexander, Ian Anderson, Garry Mitchell, Euan Sharpe, Nic Van Rijn.

Portcullis: George Fairweather, Tam Walkinshaw*, Dave McFarlane, Neil Walker, Craig Humphreys, Alex Cargill, Gary McLeish, Brian Craig.

* denotes controller.