Ram’s Heid (2) are pool Division One champions

IN THE rescheduled Arbroath and District Pool League Division One decider, Abbey (1) and Ram’s Heid (2) finished deadlocked at 6-6.

After a great battle in the singles, it finished 4-4, but Rams were ruthless in the doubles to make it 6-4. Abbey won the two remaining doubles to earn them a deserved draw.

As they only needed a point to be sure of the crown, Ram’s Heid (2) are this year’s Division One champions, their third title in a row.

Abbey (1) put up a great fight on the night but Ram’s Heid (2) showed great tenacity and refusal to lie down.

Division One

P W D L Pts Ram’s Heid (2) 22 19 3 0 41 Abbey (1) 22 18 3 1 39 Burns Bar (1) 22 15 4 3 34 Letham Hotel (1) 22 12 5 5 29

Portcullis (1) 22 12 4 6 28 Newgate 22 7 4 11 18 Railway (1) 22 7 2 13 16 Legion (3) 22 4 6 13 14 Portcullis (2) 22 5 3 14 13 Ram’s Heid (1) 22 4 5 13 13 Stag 22 4 4 14 12 Pageant 22 3 2 17 8

IM #2

Results and fixtures in the Scottish Pool Association Individual Membership #2 competition are as follows.

Round one, results - Mark Crozier beat Stuart Campbell, 6-1; John Maud lost to Kenny McMillan, 6-1.

Round two, results - George Fairweather beat Steve Hardwick, 6-3.

Fixtures - Graham Dunbar v Steve Webster; Gordon Dickson v Mark Crozier; Colin Brown v Scott MacEwan; Euan Sharpe v Martin Cherry; Greg Alexander v Roy Middleton; Kenny McMillan v Gareth Ruxton.

Round two ties must be completed by no later than Sunday, May 15. Result to be ‘phoned or texted to Graham Dunbar.

Willie McCartney competition

Draw and results in the Scottish Pool Association Willie McCartney competition are as follows:

Outstanding first round results - Dave McFarlane gave walkover to John Maud; Garry Mitchell received walkover from Gordon Smith; Gavin Cargill lost to Steve Hallam, 6-4; Craig Dawson beat Stuart MacDonald, 6-4; Garry Duff lost to Jimmy Dear, 6-4; Jim Falconer lost to Michael Bastow, 6-2; Stuart Smith gave walkover to Steve Hamilton; Craig Fairweather lost to Neil Davidson, 6-3.

Final qualifying results - Steve Hardwick lost to John Maud, 6-1.

Fixtures - Ricky Dewars v Gareth Ruxton; Sandy McAllan v Garry Mitchell; Brian Craig v Steve Hallam; Craig Dawson v Dale Leith; Jimmy Dear v Jimmy Balfour; George Fairweather v Steve Webster; Michael Bastow v Davy Jack; Scott MacEwan v Martin Cherry; Steve Reid v Paddy Nicoll; Ryan MacKenzie v Steve Hamilton; Neil Davidson v Graham Dunbar.

These ties are to be completed by no later than Sunday, May 22.

Howden’s Joinery Arbroath Open

The deadline for handing in completed forms and fees for the Howden’s Joinery Dundee Arbroath Open is next Friday (May 20). These can be handed into Steve Webster in the usual manner. The competition will take place on Saturday, May 21, at Seaton House, the day before Finals Day.

SPA coaching

Following a selection meeting, the following four candidates have been picked to attend Seaton House on Friday, May 20, at 7 p.m. to receive coaching from Paul Preston, SPA acting president: Scott MacEwan, Michael Bastow, Sean Hardwick and Colin Smith.

Selected players must confirm their attendance to a committee member.

Committee meeting

Arbroath and District Pool League committee will meet at the usual time and venue on Monday (May 16) to review plans for this season’s finale.

Finals weekend

The committee is looking for as many volunteers as possible at Seaton House on Friday, May 20, to assist with the unloading and setting up of the tables for the weekend.

Timings will be confirmed but the tables are hoped to be delivered by lunchtime. The more people who give up half an hour to help, the quicker they will be set-up. The tables will be free-play and, apart from being used for the coaching, the others will be available for practice the moment they are set-up and levelled.

This year’s finals day will once again be held at Crown Parks Seaton Estate on Sunday, May 22. Sign-in is 11.30 a.m. for a 12 noon start and all team captains must attend a meeting at 11.30 a.m. prompt to go through the rules for the day.

The format will consist of the following running order: Knock-out Cup, semi-finals to conclusion - Ram’s Heid (2) versus Newgate and Portcullis (2) versus Burns Bar (1).

This is a straight draw as listed. The semi-finals will take place over two tables each, with the final immediately afterwards, also on two tables. Captains will be required to submit a full running order of nine singles, followed by their four doubles.

At the same time as the Knock-out Cup, the Consolation Cup will commence. It will be played from quarter-finals to conclusion. The draw is - Fishermans v Legion (2); Portcullis (3) v Stag; Bowlers v Legion (1); and Burns Bar (2) bye.

Again this is a straight draw as listed with captains submitting a full list of nine singles and four doubles.

Once the Knock-out Cup final has been completed attention will then turn to the Kelbie Metals ADPL doubles final. Finalists have yet to be announced.

At or around the same time, the Kelbie Metals ADPL singles - Billy Stewart Memorial Trophy competition will begin. It will run from the last 16 to a conclusion.

The last 16 draw is as follows - Aaron Wilson, Letham Hotel (1) v Gordon Smith, Abbey (1); Ian Anderson, Station v Steve Hardwick, Portcullis (1); Andrew Braid, Abbey (1) v Stuart Smith, Abbey (1); Gary McLeish, Burns Bar (1) v Euan Sharpe, Portcullis (1); Sandy McAllan, Abbey (1) v George Fairweather, Portcullis (1); Dave McFarlane, Ram’s Heid (2) v Barrie Watt, Abbey (1); Steve Hallam, Abbey (1) v Steve Webster, Portcullis (1); Scott Strachan, Abbey (1) v Davie Williams, Portcullis (1).

A charity presentation will take place at 2 p.m. to Roz Martin of MacMillan Nurses. The amount raised was £320.

After the singles final is concluded the presentation of trophies will take place at about 8 to 9 p.m.