Preliminary round needed after record entry in annual singles

A RECORD number of entries (161) were received for this year’s Arbroath and District Pool League Kelbie Metals Singles competition.

A preliminary round is required to whittle the entries down to the last 128. A total of 33 matches are required for this and these will take place on Tuesday, January 10.

The draw is as follows:

Portcullis (bar) - James Beal, Shane Twaddle, Matt Paton, Steve Hardwick*, Dale Leith, James Jackson.

Portcullis (darts) - Nomie Braes, Scott Mulligan, Richard Paterson, Scott Strachan*, Dave McFarlane and Steve Hamilton.

Legion (bar) - James Balfour, Kyle Robb, Sean Hardwick*, Jim Rennie, Chris Smith, Drew Webster.

Legion (darts) - Richard Anthistle, Kyle Couttie, Drew Johnston, Wayne Green, Gary Stewart*, Jim Kearnan.

Ram’s Heid (bar) - Michael Bastow*, Steve Hallam, George McKiddie, Kenny McPherson, Alex Whyte, Craig Fairweather.

Ram’s Heid (kitchen) - Duncan Low, Neil Davidson, Stuart Campbell*, Tam Twaddle, Connor Warren, Karl Capewell.

Bowlers - Chris Lyons, James Twaddle, Gary Cook, Gordon Smith*, Garry Mitchell, Kerry Tough.

Cliffburn - Martin Greer, Mark Crozier, Colin McPherson, Walter Preston, Bob Whitelaw, Stuart Smith*.

Station - Sandy McAllan, David Williams*, Jeff Barthorpe, Ian Anderson, Chris Gray, Dean Smith.

Stag - Peter Longmuir, Sam McWalter, James Tough, Ricky Dewars, Tam Walkinshaw*, Wayne Jarvie.

Burns Bar - Stephen Humphreys, Josh Donaldson, Andy Hay, Colin Watt, Brian Craig, Roy Middleton*.

Players must sign in by 8 p.m. to allow for best of five frame format. All venues to play down to three qualifiers.

Lag the first frame only then alternative breaks.

Controllers (*) to ‘phone or text the qualifiers names to the usual number (07835-338847) at the conclusion of the ties.

Scotch Doubles

The interest in this event has not been as anticipated and to date there has been 27 entries. On that basis each pair has automatically qualified for the Scotch Doubles Finals on January 31. It is hoped the entries can be boosted to 32 before the finals and therefore entries are welcome up to and including the finals or until the entries reach 32, whichever comes first.

SPA Super 11s

The deadline for interested players has been extended to Wednesday, January 4. All interested players should contact Gordon Smith, Roy Middleton or Graham Dunbar. The interest gained will ultimately determine the number of teams that we will be entering, but it is hoped that the league can continue with four teams, similar to last year.

The fees remain at £36 per player. These will be due by, at the very latest, January 30 to allow time for collation and arrangement of payment, by the treasurer, to the SPA the next day.

The A event will be played at Craig Tara, Ayr, over the weekend of March 9, 10 and 11. The B event will be played at Pettycur Bay, Kinghorn, over the weekend of March 16, 17 and 18.

Tayside Singles 2011/12

It is Arbroath’s turn to host this event again this year and the deadline for entries is Tuesday, January 10, at 7 p.m. to allow the draw to be carried out in advance.

The tournament will be held on January 21 at the Cliffburn Hotel. Dependent on entries, it is hoped that races will begin with best of five. The sign in time will be dependent on entries and will be announced after the deadline for entries has passed.

As a guide players should be prepared for a 9.30 a.m. sign in time. Entry fee is £5 per player. All entries must be handed into the Ram’s Heid for the attention of the match secretary or treasurer or handed to them in person.