Pool registration event

TEAM registration for Arbroath and District Pool League’s new season will be held on Sunday, September 2, in the Royal British Legion Scotland clubrooms, starting at 7.30 p.m.

Registration forms are available on the website at www.arbroath.scottishpool.com in the downloads section. Hard copies will be distributed around the venues in due course.

SPA doubles

The national finals of this year’s SPA Scottish doubles will be held at Craig Tara, Ayr, on Friday, November 9, starting at approximately 12 noon. Depending on entries there will be a local qualifier.

Players should note that the national finals are the same weekend as the Super 15s ‘A’ event and the weekend before the Super 15s ‘B’ event at Pettycur Bay. Players competing in the national finals and who are not competing at the Super 15s ‘A’ event are not under any obligation to stay at Craig Tara.

Entries are to be submitted at the next SPA meeting on Sunday, September 2, therefore the Arbroath deadline for entries is Friday, August 31.

Super 15s

The selection committee met last week and the following players have been selected to represent Arbroath at the upcoming Superleague events.

A team – Gordon Smith (captain), Steve Webster, Dave McFarlane, Jonathan Cargill, Graham Dunbar, Gordon Dickson, George Fairweather, Steve Hallam, Gary McLeish, Stuart Smith, Gareth Ruxton, Roy Middleton, Tam Walkinshaw, Ian Anderson and John Maud,

This team will travel to Haven, Craig Tara, Ayr to compete over the weekend of November 9 to 11.

B team – Michael Bastow (captain), Scott MacEwan, Richard Paterson, Mark Gray, Sean Hardwick, Steve Hardwick, Kenny McMillan, Brian Craig, Drew Webster, Kevin Brown, Walter Preston, Steve Reid, Alex Cargill (Jnr), Kris Cameron, Ryan MacKenzie and Colin Smith.

At present, it is not known if the B team will play at Craig Tara, Ayr on November 9 to 11 or at Pettycur Bay, Kinghorn, on November 16 to 18. This will be decided by the SPA on September 2 and the players will be advised accordingly.

Players are reminded that their accommodation fees (£36 per player) are required by no later than Friday, August 31. Players who have not paid by this date will be removed and a player(s) invited to join the team from the reserve list.

The selection committee would also like to take this opportunity to thank all of those who expressed interest in playing for Arbroath.

Players Wanted

The Portcullis (3) and St Tam’s teams are currently seeking players for the new season. Should anyone be interested in joining either team they should contact the team captains, Paul Kelly, Portcullis 3, or Lindsay Palser, St Tam’s, on the forum thread on the pool website at www.arbroath.scottishpool.com.

IM competition

Paddy Nicoll, Ian Anderson, Gary McLeish, Garry Mitchell and Gareth Ruxton travel to Cue Here, Airdrie this weekend to compete in the IM #4 national finals.

They start at the following times: 10 a.m. - Paddy Nicoll v Thomas McIntosh; 12:30 p.m. - Scott Lynn v Ian Anderson; 1.45 p.m. - Mark Boyle v Gary McLeish; 5.30 p.m. - Steven Bennie v Garry Mitchell; 6.45 p.m. - Ian Blaikie v Gareth Ruxton.