No change at the top

JOINT leaders of Division One of Arbroath and District Pool League, Portcullis (1) and Cliffburn (1), won on Tuesday against Newgate and Portcullis (2) respectively.

Third placed Ram’s Heid (2) dropped a point when they drew with Abbey.

In Division Two, leaders Bowlers recorded a comfortable 9-3 win over West Port (1) while second-placed Fishermans were narrowly beaten by Cliffburn (2) and are now three points adrift and share their place with West Port Bar (2) who had a commanding win over Railway (2).

Division One

Results: Legion (1) 5, Ram’s Heid (1) 7; Letham (1) 12, Stag 0; Newgate 5, Portcullis (1) 7; Portcullis (2) 5, Cliffburn (1) 7; Ram’s Heid (2) 6, Abbey 6; Station (1) 5, Railway (1) 7.

P W D L Pts

Portcullis (1) 15 14 0 1 28

Cliffburn (1) 15 13 2 0 28

Ram’s Heid (2) 15 11 3 1 25

Railway (1) 15 8 0 7 16

Newgate 15 7 2 6 16

Portcullis (2) 15 7 0 8 14

Letham (1) 14 4 4 6 12

Legion (1) 15 5 1 9 11

Ram’s Heid (1) 15 5 1 9 11

Abbey 14 4 2 8 10

Station (1) 15 2 0 13 4

Stag 15 1 1 13 3

Division Two

Results: Cliffburn (2) 7, Fishermans 5; Legion (3) 7, Legion (2) 5; Portcullis (3) 4, Westport (2) 8; Railway (2) 7, Station (2) 5; St Tams 6, Letham (2) 6; Westport (1) 3, Bowlers 9.

P W D L Pts

Bowlers 15 11 1 3 23

Fishermans 15 8 4 3 20

Westport (2) 15 8 4 3 20

St Tam’s 15 8 3 4 19

Legion (3) 15 7 4 4 18

Portcullis (3) 15 7 3 5 17

Westport (1) 15 6 2 7 14

Letham (2) 14 3 7 4 13

Cliffburn (2) 14 3 6 5 12

Station (2) 15 4 2 9 10

Railway (2) 15 3 3 9 9

Legion (2) 15 1 3 11 5

League pool takes a break for the next few weeks for various competitions.

Kelbie Metals Singles

Ties in the last 64 of the Arbroath and District Pool League Kelbie Metals singles competition will be played on Tuesday (February 26).

There will be a strict sign-in time of 8 p.m. to allow for a best of five frame format. All venues will play down to four qualifiers. Lag the first frame only then alternative breaks.

Venues are as follows:

Cliffburn - Paddy Nicoll, Shane Twaddle, Barrie Watt, Sam McWalter, Gavin Cargill, Tom Dye, Scott Strachan*, Callum Paton.

Legion (bar) - Steve Reid*, Ryan MacKenzie, Bobby Bell, Greg Alexander, George Fairweather, Kevin Brown, Andy Jolly, Jamie Murray.

Legion (darts) - George McKiddie, Gordon Dickson, Steve Hallam, Alex Cargill, Tam Twaddle, Dean Craig, Mark Gray, Lee Strachan*.

Portcullis (bar) - Craig Fairweather, Wayne Robertson, Jamie Robertson, Colin MacPherson, Tam Walkingshaw*, Gareth Ruxton, David McFarlane, David Jack.

Portcullis (darts) - Euan Sharpe, Lindsay Palser*, Stuart Smith, Gary Stewart, Paul Duncan, Garry Craig, Steve Webster, Walter Preston.

Ram’s Heid (bar) - Stuart Campbell*, Dale Leith, Liam Buchan, Martin Cherry, John Fotheringham, Gary McLeish, Alan Doyle, Eric Galloway.

Ram’s Heid (kitchen) - Kevin Duncan, Drew Johnston, Nic Van Rijn, Steve Hamilton, Michael Bastow*, Jeff Barthorpe, Mark Donald, David Williams.

Station - Richard Paterson, Jonathan Cargill, Andy Braid, Stephen Talbert, Bruce Wallace, Graham Dunbar, Roy Middleton*, Ricky Dewars.

* denotes controller.

Controllers to ‘phone or text the qualifiers’ names to the match secretary at the conclusion of the ties.

Referees to be in place for all matches.

Tayside Doubles

It is Arbroath’s turn to host the annual Tayside Doubles tournament and this year it will be held at the Portcullis on Saturday, March 2, with a sign in time of 11 a.m.

Entry is £10 per double and the deadline for entries is 7 p.m. on Tuesday (February 26) to allow the draw to be done in advance. Entries can be handed to the match secretary or treasurer.

Races will be minimum best of five to begin with and may be increased if time permits. The tournament director reserves the right to introduce the one-minute time rule at any point during the competition if required.

Charity four-man team event

The qualifying round of the annual Arbroath and District Pool League charity four-man team competition will be held on Tuesday, March 12. No league pool will take place on this Tuesday.

Teams which qualify will then go on to the four-man team finals day on Sunday, March 24, at the Ram’s Heid. Sign in time to be confirmed.

Entry remains at £10 per team with a maximum of four players per team. To allow the draw to be carried out in advance, the deadline for entries will be Tuesday, March 5, with entries to be handed in to the Ram’s Heid by 7 p.m. that night, with the entry form marked for the attention of the match secretary/treasurer.

Last year some 29 teams entered with the qualifying teams having an enjoyable day out at the finals day. This is the league’s chance to give something to a chosen charity (to be confirmed) and it is hoped as many players as possible will support the event.

SPA Grassroots

The Scottish Pool Association has announced that the entry deadline for this year’s Scottish Grassroots Willie McCartney Competition is Sunday, March 3. This event is run in a similar fashion to the IMs and Scottish Singles with the SPA carrying out the draw and then the players arranging their own matches between themselves at a time/venue etc that suits both players. These matches will be best of 11 frames.

The number of qualifiers to the national finals is determined on a pro-rata basis once all entries are received. The more entries Arbroath has, the higher the number of qualifiers the town will receive. Last year there were 49 entries and Arbroath had eight qualifiers.

The national finals will be held at Cue Here, Airdrie, over the weekend of May 25/26. Entry remains at £5 per player with the SPA also adding an additional £500 to the prize pot above all entries.

The deadline for Arbroath entries is Friday, March 1, to allow collation for the SPA meeting on the Sunday.

Five-man team competition

This year’s Scottish Five-Man Team event will be held at Pettycur Bay, Kinghorn, Fife, over the weekend of April 26, 27 and 28. Entry is £250 per team, which can have five or six players.

The rules stipulated by ISP are that teams can have only one top player in each team. ISP will decide this when entries are taken. Players must come from the same IM area or league. Maximum number of teams is 48, taken on a first come first served basis. Entries should be submitted to Michael Bastow or Roy Middleton no later than 7 p.m. on Friday, March 1.

Doubles winners

Steve Hallam and Gareth Ruxton defeated Stuart Smith and Davie Williams in the final of Arbroath and District Pool League’s annual Scotch doubles competition by three frames to two at the Cliffburn Hotel last Saturday.

Both teams boasted 100 per cent records going into the final and expectations were that this would be a great match. The first four frames saw great finishes being taken by both teams. There was nothing to separate them at two frames all. The decider was no different. After a couple of containing shots by both teams Steve and Gareth took the initiative and finished out the frame for a three frames to two victory.