New exciting season all set to get under way

editorial image

The Arbroath and District Pool League received 27 teams for the forthcoming season and these have been divided into two divisions. Division One will maintain 13 teams similar to last year, with Division Two expanding to 14 teams.

The new season will commence on Tuesday, September 23 with the following fixtures:-

Division 1: Burns Bar V Cliffburn 1, Letham 1 V Railway 1, Merchants V Newgate 1, Newgate 2 V Shotz 2, Railway 2 V Portcullis 1, Shotz 1 V Ram’s Heid 1, Bye V Portcullis 2

Division 2: Bowlers 2 V West Port 2, Cliffburn 2 V Bowlers 1, Fishermans V Station, St Tams V Legion 2, Portcullis 3 V Letham 2, Stag V Shotz 3, West Port 1 V Legion 1

Teams are reminded that the usual 8 p.m. sign-in time stands and that the home team Captain should phone or text the score to the Match Secretary upon completion of the match. Captains are reminded that failure to do so will result in a points deduction for the home team.

Full glossy fixture lists shall be made available as soon as possible and distributed around the venues.

Finally, on behalf of the Committee, good luck to every team in the ADPL this season.

2014 UK Open

The 2014 UK Open takes place this weekend where 128 pool players will be heading to Styx, Kirkcaldy to become the 2014 Champion and take home the top prize of £3000. Good luck to Graham Dunbar, Marc Fleming, Scott MacEwan, Garry Mitchell and Paddy Nicoll.

Super 15’s Interest Lists

This year’s Super 15’s Events will be held at Pettycur Bay, Kinghorn, Fife. The Premier Event will be held over the weekend of November 21/22/23.

The First Division will be held over the weekend of November 14/15/16.

The A Team will be competing in the Premier Division, whilst the B Team will be in the First Division.