League pool makes way for Kelbie Metals singles

PORTCULLIS (1) maintained their unbeaten record in Arbroath and District Pool League with a 7-5 away victory against British Legion on Tuesday to hold on to their shared top spot in Division One. The other contender, Cliffburn (1) recorded a more emphatic away win against Stag.

Ram’s Heid (2) demolished Portcullis (2) at home to keep within distance of the leaders.

In Division Two, leaders Bowlers were away to Portcullis (3) and had a good win to consolidate top spot. Fishermans had a workmanlike away win over Railway (2) and took advantage of defeats by Portcullis (3) and St Tam’s to slip into second place.

Division One

Results: Legion (1) 5, Portcullis (1) 7; Letham (1) P, Abbey P; Newgate 8, Railway (1) 4; Ram’s Heid (2) 10, Portcullis (2) 2; Stag 3, Cliffburn (1) 9; Station (1) 5, Ram’s Heid (1) 7.

P W D L Pts

Portcullis (1) 13 12 0 1 24

Cliffburn (1) 13 11 2 0 24

Ram’s Heid (2) 13 10 2 1 22

Portcullis (2) 13 7 0 6 14

Railway (1) 13 7 0 6 14

Newgate 13 6 2 5 14

Abbey 12 4 1 7 9

Legion (1) 13 4 1 8 9

Ram’s Heid (1) 13 4 1 8 9

Letham (1) 12 2 4 6 8

Station (1) 13 2 0 11 4

Stag 13 1 1 11 3

Division Two

Results: Cliffburn (2) P, Letham (2) P; Legion (3) 6, West Port (2) 6; Portcullis (3) 4, Bowlers 8; Railway (2) 5, Fishermans 7; St Tam’s 4, Station (2) 8; West Port (1) 3, Legion (2) 9.

P W D L Pts

Bowlers 13 10 1 2 21

Fishermans 13 7 4 2 18

Portcullis (3) 13 7 3 3 17

St Tam’s 13 7 2 4 16

West Port Bar 2 13 6 4 3 16

West Port Bar 1 13 6 2 5 14

Legion (3) 13 5 4 4 14

Station (2) 13 4 2 7 10

Letham (2) 12 2 6 4 10

Cliffburn (2) 12 1 6 5 8

Legion (2) 13 1 3 9 5

Railway (2) 13 1 3 9 5


League Pool now takes a break for the next two weeks to allow the Arbroath and District Pool League Kelbie Metals singles and doubles competitions to begin.

Kelbie Metals singles

Last 128 ties in the Kelbie Metals singles, to be played on Tuesday are as follows: Abbey: Lindsay Palser*, Craig Johnston, Brian Craig, Tam Twaddle, James Twaddle, Mark McGlashan, Kevin Duncan, George McKiddie.

Bowlers: Chris Gray, Stuart Campbell*, Gary Stewart, Stephen Humphreys, Jim Dear, Steve Hamilton, John Fotheringham, James Jackson.

Cliffburn (bar): Richard Paterson, Brian Meikle, Kent Mitchell, Jim Falconer*, Euan Sharpe, Paul Duncan, Alan Reid, Kevin Brown.

Cliffburn 1: Shane Twaddle, Alex Whyte, Craig Brown, Mark Donald, Jim Ogilvie, Jamie Robertson, Dale Leith, Garry Mitchell*.

Cliffburn 2: Garry Craig, Duncan Low, Liam Buchan, Stuart Kerr, Bobby Bell, Richard Anthistle, Steven Scott, Roy Middleton*.

Cliffburn 3: Tam Shepherd, Alex Cargill, Dean Smith, Michael Bastow*, George Ogilvie, Jeff Barthorpe, Gordon Taylor, Tam Walkingshaw.

Cliffburn 4: Gordon Dickson*, Ryan Ross, Colin MacPherson, Craig Fairweather, Kris Cameron, Scott Lyons, Drew Webster, Drew Johnston.

Legion (bar): Wayne Green, Frank Ebsworth, Martin Cherry, Colin Spink, Bruce Wallace, Wayne Robertson, Lee Strachan*, Dave Penny.

Legion (darts): Sam McWalter, Jim Cowie, Barrie Watt, Gareth Ruxton, Scott Berrie, David Williams, Michael Shore, Scott MacEwan*.

Newgate: Paddy Nicoll, Matt Paton, Paul Kelly, Ryan MacKenzie*, Lex Wilson, Jamie Murray, John Whyte, Dean Craig.

Portcullis (bar): Tom Dye, Scott Teviotdale, Chris Robinson, Richard Crowder*, Billy Roberts, Andy Braid, Gavin Cargill, Eric Galloway.

Portcullis (darts): Andy Hay, Pam Twaddle, Stephen Talbert, Steve Webster*, Callum Paton, Ken MacPherson, Jonathan Cargill, Chris Hardwick.

Ram’s Heid (bar): Gary Mutch, Nic Van Rijn, George Fairweather, Chris Mitchell, Gordon Smith*, Scott Strachan, Greg Alexander, Bob Whitelaw.

Ram’s Heid (kitchen): Colin Smith, Chris Lyons, David Jack, John Maud, Graham Dunbar*, Steve Hallam, Kenny McMillan, Walter Preston.

Station: David McFarlane, Kyle Scott, Sean Hardwick, Stuart Smith*, Kevin Watt, Andy Jolly, Gary McLeish, Ian Brunton.

West Port Bar: Connor Warren, Mark Gray, Steve Reid*, Steve Hardwick, Ben Ross, Alan Doyle, Ricky Dewars, Glen McEvoy.

* denotes controller

Sign-in time is 8 p.m. to allow for best of five frame format. All venues will play down to four qualifiers. Lag the first frame only then alternative breaks. Controllers to ‘phone or text the qualifiers’ names to the match secretary at the conclusion of the ties.

Scotch doubles

The Arbroath and District Pool League Scotch Doubles will continue again this year. Entry will be £5 per double. The tournament will be held at the Cliffburn Hotel on Saturday, February 2, with a sign in time of 11 a.m. The deadline for entries is Tuesday, January 29. The final format is still to be decided and will depend on entries, however, it is envisaged a group stage may be used this year.

Rules are Scotch Doubles, which means players take alternative shots within the same visit, i.e., player one makes a pot and then player two makes the next pot. Players, therefore, are leaving the white in position for their partner to play from. This is vastly different to the traditional doubles where each player takes separate visits.

More importantly, players are allowed to talk before each visit starts. Players can talk again between shots but they only have one minute to do so, unlike the ADPL doubles where discussions are not permitted between shots. As such the frames tend to be quicker and more open with less talking. Players who have played these rules in practice speak highly of them and hence the introduction of this new tournament.

All entries must be handed, in person, to the match secretary or treasurer.

SPA Grassroots

The Scottish Pool Association has announced the entry deadline for this year’s Scottish Grassroots Willie McCartney competition, which it is Sunday, March 3. This event is run in a similar fashion to the IMs and Scottish singles with the SPA carrying out the draw and then the players arranging their own matches between themselves at a time/venue etc that suits both. These matches will be best of 11 frames.

The number of qualifiers to the national finals is determined on a pro-rata basis once all entries are received. The more entries Arbroath has, the higher the number of qualifiers. The town had 49 entries last year and received eight qualifiers.

The national finals will be held at Cue Here, Airdrie, over the weekend of May 25/26. Entry remains at £5 per player with the SPA also adding an additional £500 to the prize pot above all entries.

The deadline for Arbroath entries is Friday, March 1, to allow collation for the SPA meeting on the Sunday.