League at halfway stage

THE RACE to be Arbroath and District Pool League Division One champions is far from over although it appears to be a three-way race between Portcullis (1), Cliffburn (1) and Ram’s Heid (2).

After the first half of fixtures only two points separate the three teams. Portcullis (1) and Cliffburn (1) share the lead although Portcullis (1) sit top of the league at Christmas by virtue of most games won. Ram’s Heid (2) are two points behind the leading pair.

Cliffburn (1) can boast the only unbeaten record throughout both divisions and are in a strong position to wrestle the championship crown from the Ram’s Heid (2).

Portcullis (2), Railway (1) and Newgate are all tied on the same points and will look to push each other in the next half of the season. Mid-table, only one point separates Abbey, Legion (1) and Letham (1). At the bottom, Stag prop up the division with three points with Station (1) above them by a solitary point. Ram’s Heid (1) sit precariously and will hope to get away from the relegation zone during the second half of the season.

Division One

P W D L Pts

Portcullis (1) 11 10 0 1 20

Cliffburn (1) 11 9 2 0 20

Ram’s Heid (2) 11 8 2 1 18

Portcullis (2) 11 6 0 5 12

Railway (1) 11 6 0 5 12

Newgate 11 5 2 4 12

Abbey 11 4 1 6 9

Legion (1) 11 4 1 6 9

Letham (1) 11 2 4 5 8

Ram’s Heid (1) 11 2 1 8 5

Station (1) 11 2 0 9 4

Stag 11 1 1 9 3

Bowlers lead the way in the Second Division, holding a one point lead over Portcullis (3). A key fixture in the second half of the season will be on January 22 when the current top two will lock horns.

The top two teams go into the festive break with a three point cushion over the chasing pack of St Tam’s, West Port Bar (1) and Fishermans – all of whom will be making a push for the top positions in the next half of of the season.

West Port Bar (2) are a further point behind and will also hope to squeeze into the top two.

Only three points separate the next four teams with Legion (3) sitting mid-table ahead of Letham (2), Station (2) and Cliffburn (2). Legion (2) currently languish at the bottom of the division having accumulated three points from the opening half of the season. Railway (2) sit above them by a mere two points and will hope to avoid the ‘wooden spoon’.

Division Two

P W D L Pts

Bowlers 11 8 1 2 17

Portcullis (3) 11 7 2 2 16

St Tams 11 6 2 3 14

West Port Bar (1) 11 6 2 3 14

Fishermans 11 5 4 2 14

West Port Bar (2) 11 5 3 3 13

Legion (3) 11 4 3 4 11

Letham (2) 11 2 5 4 9

Station (2) 11 3 2 6 8

Cliffburn (2) 11 1 6 4 8

Railway (2) 11 1 3 7 5

Legion (2) 11 0 3 8 3

Going into the second half of the season, both leagues are still being strongly contested and it is too close to call who the winners will be – a lot of big matches are still to be played and the outcome of these will have a major bearing on who goes on to be the division champions.

Festive Break

The league will re-commence on Tuesday, January 15, 2013. Players should note the Arbroath and District Pool League singles prelim will be held on January 8 when 18 players are involved.

Fund-raising Event

Arbroath and District Pool League committee extended thanks to all the players who attended last week’s fund-raising event. The positive response from the players involved is encouraging and the final sum raised is still to be confirmed.

Kelbie Metals Singles

The Arbroath and District Pool League Kelbie Metals Singles will begin on Tuesday, January 8. This year 137 players entered the competition which requires a preliminary round.

The following players were drawn out at the venues listed:

Cliffburn: Ryan McGregor, Sean Hardwick,* James Jackson, Glen McEvoy, Christian Watt and Neil Walker.

Legion (bar): Dave Barthorpe, Ricky Dewars, Craig Humphreys, Josh Longmuir, Kevin Duncan and Richard Paterson*.

Portcullis (bar): Nomie Braes, Shane Twaddle, Callum Paton, Josh Donaldson, Roy Middleton* and Ian Anderson.

*: denotes controller.

Players should note that there is a strict sign-in time of 8 p.m. on the night. There will be three matches at each venue providing three qualifiers. All matches are the best of five frames. Lag the first frame only, then alternative breaks. Referees must be in place for all matches. Upon completion of the first match, winners will referee the next match. Controller to text the match secretary with qualifiers from their venue upon completion of the matches.

Tayside Singles

It is Dundee’s turn to host the Tayside Singles event this year and the deadline for entries is Tuesday, January 22, at 8 p.m. to allow the draw to be carried out in advance.

The tournament will be held on Saturday, January 26, at the Old Mill, Dundee. Dependent on entries, it is hoped that races will begin with best of five. The sign in time will be 10.30 a.m. Entry fee remains at £5 per player.

Michael Bastow will be collating the Arbroath entries and these must be handed in to the Ram’s Heid for his attention or handed to him in person.

SPA Super 11s

Players who wish to represent Arbroath at the Scottish Pool Association (SPA) Super 11s Events in March are asked to contact any committee member. Players can also post their interest on the relevant thread on the pool website at www.arbroath.scottishpool.com. However, in a change from previous years, players are being asked for a commitment to these events and as such a £20 non-refundable deposit is required. If you are subsequently not selected for any of the teams you will get your money refunded. If a player withdraws after being selected then they will lose their deposit.

Players should note the SPA has increased the accommodation fees to £40 per player for the forthcoming Supers events.

The deadline for expression of interest is Tuesday, January 22. Players must also note that in committing to being selected they can be selected for a team that may travel to Craig Tara on March 8, 9 and 10 or Pettycur Bay on March 15, 16 and 17.

The teams will be selected the following night with the remainder of the fees due no later than Tuesday, February 5.

Should you have any questions, please contact the match secretary, Michael Bastow.