Latest from the bowling greens

Arbroath Bowling Club ladies' competition winners are, from left, back - Dorothy Clarke, Irene Teviotdale, Shiela Moffat, Joan Skea, Madalaine Smith, Linda Bogue, Sylvia Simpson and June Webster: front - Mary Thoms, president Elma Herron, Janie Williamson and Fay Pearson.
Arbroath Bowling Club ladies' competition winners are, from left, back - Dorothy Clarke, Irene Teviotdale, Shiela Moffat, Joan Skea, Madalaine Smith, Linda Bogue, Sylvia Simpson and June Webster: front - Mary Thoms, president Elma Herron, Janie Williamson and Fay Pearson.

Last Wednesday’s Abbey BC friendly was played at Craigie Bowling Club where Abbey members finished the season with a 25-shot defeat.


Craigie v Abbey

25 J. McCartney B. Tosh 11

22 G. Lowrey J. Falconer 16

20 J. McAuldy T. Mill 15

17 T. Diamond R.A. Skea 17

84 59


On Friday night the gauntlet was thrown down once again as the club’s Angus League team challenged the seniors’ Angus League team for the Michael Mouse Trophy.

The seniors won for the second year in succession, albeit by a tighter margin than last year.


Angus v Seniors

5 K. Tosh J.S. Paterson 13

10 J.K. Paterson R. Wilson 11

10 A. Burnett B. Tosh 11

25 35

The last competitive game was away to Carnoustie on Saturday, which saw Abbey finish the season with a good 160 - 116 victory.


Carnoustie v Abbey

14 B. Petrie D. Whitton 27

21 I. Rodell T. Mill 17

14 D.G. Keiller T. Coull 29

10 T. McLean J. Lowson 30

18 G. Allan J.S. Paterson 20

19 S. Willox P. Speirs 22

20 D. Robertson M. Anderson 15

116 160

Tomorrow (Saturday) is the men’s closing day and those wishing to play should attend by 1.45 p.m.

Ladies’ section

Ladies’ section trophy winners are: Alice Laing Triples, May Smith, Sheila Geddes and Ely Marnie; runners-up - Ann Burnett, Ella Moss and Davina McGregor: Two-bowl Nominated Pairs - Morag Mann and Davina McGregor; runners-up - Janette Tosh and Margaret Fraser: Handicap Singles - Janette Tosh; runner-up - Kathleen Gordon: Giddings Lewis Singles - Kathleen Gordon; runner-up - Karen Farmer: Mae Knox Singles - Davina McGregor; runner-up - Ely Marnie.

Championship Fours - Helen Ross, Mary Cunningham, Margaret Fraser and Emma Philip; runners-up - Irene Eaton, Ann Whitton, Janette Tosh and Kathleen Gordon: Championship Triples - Emma Philip, May Smith and Kathleen Gordon; runners-up - Helen Ross, Ella Moss and Kathleen Gordon: Championship Pairs - May Smith and Emma Philip; runners-up - Norma Dunsmore and Kathleen Gordon: Championship Singles - Ely Marnie; runner-up - Kathleen Gordon.

Newgate Club

Gents Seniors v Juniors

On Saturday the annual Seniors v Juniors gents challenge match, which was sponsored by Creature Comforts Cattery, was played.

The game was tied at two rinks each but experience shone through for the seniors who won handsomely on shots advantage. The trophy was accepted for the third year running by seniors’ team captain Sandy Smith from the juniors’ team captain Ron Webster.

Seniors v Juniors

21 A.C. Napier S. Pearson 10

21 A. Smith R. Webster 8

18 D. Perkins E. Martin 21

11 B. Sibley S. Sibley 17

71 56

Tomorrow (Saturday) is the last game of the season with the gents’ closing day. Members are asked to report to the clubrooms by 2.p.m. for a 2.30.p.m start.

Ladies’ Section

On Sunday the ladies held their closing day game and presentation of prizes. The match involved the president Linda Cargill v the past president Ruth Ferguson in a three rink competition with invited guests in which the president’s team ran out worthy winners.

President v Past President

14 M. Cargill K. Swan 10

9 L. Cargill R. Ferguson 16

25 P. Smith A. Johnston 4

48 30

Trophy winners: Club Singles - May Hutcheson. Club Pairs - Isobel Johnstone and Sharon Caird. Club Triples - Lesley McLeod, Norma Spence and Kathleen Swan. Nominated Pairs - Ann and Margaret Cargill. Rae Perkins Trophy - Barbara Park and Betty Hodson. Belle Smith Trophy - Pat Smith. Mina Cargill Trophy - Pat Smith. Jean Stewart Pairs - Betty Hodson and Irene Hill. Cameron Trophy - Margaret Cargill. Mixed Pairs - Barbara Park and Tom Reid.

The ladies’ annual general meeting will be held in the clubrooms at 7.p.m. on Thursday, November 14. A full turnout of lady members is requested.


Interception sinks Arbroath

Arbroath RFC 0, Dundee University (Medics) 5

Dundee University Medics were the visitors on Saturday at the High School, Arbroath.

Arbroath took to the field with a good mixture of young and more experienced players all keen to make a mark and secure a position in the team for the rest of the season. Conditions were perfect for open running rugby and the game throughout did not disappoint the sizeable crowd.

Dundee University won the toss and elected to kick to Arbroath, T. Hall took the ball safely and with one thing on his mind made good yardage, Arbroath forwards drove in to secure the ball. However good counter rucking by the University team made life difficult in trying to clear and give quality ball to the waiting L. Grey.

Dundee continued to knock at the Arbroath door, but the front three, led by Kerion, were not going to let them in. Realising this Dundee opted to spin the ball out wide to their pacey centres, but the well organised centre pairing of R. Atue and I. Cooper were more than a match against their younger opposition.

It was very much anybody’s game with both teams playing good open running rugby. However as time ran on the younger men of Dundee began to dominate the open play with strong crash ball in the centre, and their full-back running through at pace creating an overlap.

The offloading of the ball in the tackle made life very difficult for the Lichties but in true rugby style they kept working and playing for all they were worth. One minute from the end of the first half the referee spotted an Arbroath hand in the ruck dragging the ball back, and a penalty was awarded to the students in a kickable position. Thankfully for the homesters and the home supporters the ball sailed left of the up right.

Half-time: Arbroath RFC 0, Dundee University 0.

The half-time team talk by captain D. Williams lifted the whole team, asking for more composure and more controlled aggression at rucks, this 40 minutes was to be a fresh start and all 15 players responded.

Midway through the second half Arbroath were camped on the University five metre line. Stalwart I Neish picked and drove towards the try line ably assisted by R. Watson and C. Bedwell. The crowd thought it was a try, however the referee said otherwise, held up was the decision.

Dundee come straight back at the homesters but the midfield defence was resilient and never faltered, C. Henderson was brought on to add experience to the pack. However this was shortlived with a yellow card inside five minutes for an illegal infringement.

Dundee elected to go for the three points knowing how close the game was, but once again thankfully the number 12 had left his kicking boots at home.

Time was running out for both teams to win the game. Arbroath brought on B. Smith and J. Newth at prop and full back hoping this would add just that little spark. This was a great game to watch for the neutrals in the crowd, and right up to the end Arbroath wanted more.

And so it was when L. Grey spun the final pass out to the waiting hands of club captain D. Williams the interception by the Dundee player was made. L. Grey put in a personal best for the 100 metre chase but just lost by a yard. The conversion was missed and the game ended seconds later.

Much can be taken from this game with every player working for each other and the club. Training continues at RM Condor, Thursday, from 6.15 p.m. at the Guard Room.

Players: Williams (c), J. Newth, C. Bedwell, I. Cooper, B. Smith, R. Atue, I. Neish, B. Irving, J. Collins, R. Watson, Kieron, C. Henderson, T. Hall, J. Cowan, C. Owens, A. Lilley, S. Lewis, L. Grey, D. Jones, R. Joe and D. Crowe.