Inaugural Cliffburn Singles tourney

THE INAUGURAL Cliffburn Singles will be played on Saturday, March 3, at the Cliffburn Hotel. This is the first time this event has been held and it has been kindly sponsored by Lomond Leisure.

The minimum prize fund is £400 plus all entry fees. Players should note this is an ADPL ranking event and competitors must be ADPL registered to be eligible.

Entry fee is £3 and it is hoped that the tournament can begin with a best of five format but this will depend on the overall entries and may reduce to best of three in the first round.

Rules will be SPA blackball rules with the option to enforce the one-minute rule if required. All first round losing players will drop into a one-frame flyer tournament which will be drawn on the day. The finalists of the flyer will also receive prize money.

On the day an additional sixth table will be in play. However, this will primarily be used for the additional one-frame flyer for the entire first round losing players.

As with most tournaments this year, there will be a timed sign-in. All players entering should be prepared for a 9.30 a.m. sign-in as this will be the first allotted sign-in time. Subsequent sign-in times will be dependent on entries and will be announced as soon as possible.

The deadline for entries is Tuesday, February 28, at 7 p.m. All entry forms must be handed into the Ram’s Heid (with entrance fees) in a sealed envelope addressed to Michael Bastow/Roy Middleton by no later than the deadline for entries.

Entry forms and flyers will be distributed around the teams as soon as possible. Alternatively they are available in the downloads section of the website now at

Willie McCartney competition

The Scottish Pool Association has announced the entry deadline for this year’s Scottish Grassroots, which is the meeting on March 4. This competition is run in a similar fashion to the IMs and Scottish Singles with the SPA carrying out the draw and then the players arranging their own matches between themselves at a time/venue etc that suits both. These matches will be best of 11 frames.

The number of qualifiers to the national finals is determined on a pro-rata basis once all entries are received. The more entries Arbroath has, the higher the number of qualifiers the local league will receive.

As a guide, Arbroath had 60 entries last year and received 13 qualifiers.

The national finals will be held at the Red Triangle, Cumbernauld, over the weekend of May 26/27. Entry remains at £5 per player with the SPA also adding an additional £500 to the prize pot above all entries.

The deadline for Arbroath entries is Friday, March 2, to allow collation for the SPA meeting on the Sunday.

Charity team event

The annual Arbroath and District Pool League Charity Four-man team qualifying round will be held on Tuesday (March 13). As a reminder, no league pool will take place on this day. Teams which qualify will then go on to the four-man team finals day on Sunday, March 25. The venue is still to be confirmed.

Entry remains at £10 per team with a maximum of four players per team. To allow the draw to be carried out in advance the deadline for entries will be Tuesday, March 6, with entries to be handed in to the Ram’s Heid by 7 p.m. that night, for the attention of the match secretary/treasurer.

Last year, some 26 teams entered with the qualifying teams having an enjoyable day out at the four-man team finals day. This is the league’s chance to give something to a chosen charity (to be confirmed) and it is hoped as many players as possible will support the event.

Super 11s

All players selected for the forthcoming SPA Super 11s who have yet to pay their £36 accommodation fees are asked to make payment to the treasurer before Monday (February 13). Players who have not paid by that time may be replaced by reserves.

Arbroath & District Pool League

Sidey Division One

Fixtures: Burns Bar (1) v Legion (1); Fishermans (2) v Letham (1); Legion (3) v Portcullis (1): Portcullis (3) v Portcullis (2); Cliffburn (1) v Railway Inn (1); Ram’s Heid (2) v Ram’s Heid (1).

Division Two

Fixtures: Letham (2) v Bowlers; Stag v Burns Bar (2); Railway Inn (2) v Cliffburn (2); West Port v Fishermans (1); Pageant v Legion (2); Station v St Tams.