Graham retains the Premier title

THE FINALS of the Arbroath Summer League took place at the weekend when Graham Dunbar successfully retained his Premier Event title, defeating Brian Craig in the final by seven frames to two.

Graham took home the top prize of £200 and a keepsake trophy. For Brian’s efforts he took home £100 and a keepsake trophy.

In the Plate Event, Craig Fairweather negotiated his way through the field and defeated Sean Hardwick by five frames to two in the final to take home the top prize of £50 and a keepsake trophy. Sean received the runners-up prize of £30 and a keepsake trophy.

Thanks are extended to all of the publicans who supported this year’s event again throughout the summer. Gratitude also George and Lorraine Williams for again sponsoring the finals and providing trophies for the finalists.

Committee meeting

The first committee meeting of the new season will take place on Monday (September 10) at 7.30 p.m. in the Royal British Legion Scotland clubrooms.

SPA Super 15s

It has now been confirmed that both the ‘A’ and ‘B’ teams will both travel to compete at this year’s Super 15’s ‘A’ Event at Craig Tara over the weekend of November 9 to 11.

Individual Membership #5

The outstanding fixtures must be completed by Sunday (September 9). The winner is to ‘phone or text the score to the match secretary upon completion of the tie.

Section one - Davie Williams v Gary McLeish.

Section two - Alan Reid v Steve Webster; Mark Crozier v Sean Hardwick.

Section four - Craig Fairweather v Colin Smith; Kent Mitchell v Gareth Ruxton.

Section six - Jim Falconer v Andy Braid; Garry Mitchell v Tam Walkinshaw.

Section seven - Roy Middleton v Scott MacEwan; Drew Webster v Graham Dunbar.