Bill Murray to partner David Howell at Dunhill

HOLLYWOOD star Bill Murray teams up with English professional David Howell for the 2012 Alfred Dunhill Links Championship. They start their challenge for the Team Championship at Carnoustie tomorrow in a fourball with US Ryder Cup star Dustin Johnson and his brother Austin Johnson.

Olympic and Paralympic star Oscar Pistorius will be playing with European Ryder Cup vice-captain Paul McGinley, while Michael Phelps, the most successful Olympian of all time with 18 gold medals teams up with Paul Casey.

Another great Olympic legend Sir Steve Redgrave, who won gold medals in five Games, partners Scottish hope Colin Montgomerie, while leading Scottish player Paul Lawrie, w inner of the inaugural Alfred Dunhill Links Championship in 2001, teams up his 17-year-old son Craig Lawrie.

Two-time Team Championship winners Padraig Harrington and Irish racehorse owner JP McManus will be playing together again and bidding for a hat-trick of successes.

Cricket fans should head to St Andrews for two consecutive fourballs which include Sir Ian Botham & David Horsey and Shane Warne & Peter O’Malley, closely followed by recently retired England captain Andrew Strauss & Oliver Fisher and Steve Waugh & Richard McEvoy.

Selected pairings for tomorrow’s play are:

Carnoustie (All 1st tee)

09.22: Ernie Els & Johann Rupert / Thomas Aiken & Marvin Shanken

09.33: Louis Oosthuizen & Ode ndaal Koen / Charl Schwartzel & George Schwartzel

09.55: Martin Kaymer & Johann Elliot / Federico Colombo & Christer Lihammar

10.06: Paul McGinley & Oscar Pistorius / Colin Montgomerie & Sir Steve Redgrave

10.17: Paul Casey & Michael Phelps / Knut Borsheim & Franz Klammer

10.28: Paul Lawrie & Craig Lawrie / Pablo Larrazabal & Dermot Desmond

10.39: Padraig Harrington & JP McManus / Martin Laird & Martin Gilbert

11.01: Shaun Micheel & Greg Kinnear / Alvaro Quiros & Huey Lewis

11.12: Rich Beem & Danny Sullivan / Simon Dyson & Andrew Chandler

11.23: Darren Clarke & Selwyn Nathan / Mathias Gronberg & Brian Lara

St Andrews (All 1st tee)

09.00: David Horsey & Sir Ian Botham / Peter O’Malley & Shane Warne

09.11: Oliver Fisher & Andrew Strauss / Richard McEvoy &am p; Steve Waugh

09.22: Maarten Lafeber & Johan Cruyff / Tommy Fleetwood & Sir Matthew Pinsent

09.44: Michael Campbell & Dan Quayle / Miguel Angel Jimenez & Brian Higgins

09.55: Ignacio Garrido & Tico Torres / Jbe’ Kruger & Morne du Plessis

10.06: Thomas Bjorn & Jamie Redknapp / Fredrik Andersson Hed & Harry Crosby

The prestigious Alfred Dunhill Links Championship - played over three of the world’s best known and respected links courses - the Old Course at St Andrews, the Championship Course at Carnoustie and the highly regarded Kingsbarns Golf Links - begins tomorrow (Thursday). The final round will be played on the Old Course on Sunday (October 7).

The Championship has a unique format. With a prize fund of US$5 million, it incorporates two separate com petitions - an individual professional tournament for the world’s leading golfers and a team event in which they are paired with some of the most celebrated amateurs.

A total of 168 teams, each consisting of one professional and one amateur, contest the first three rounds, with one round being played at each of the three courses in rotation. The two competitions are played concurrently – individual professional and team. The team score will be the best net score of the two players at each hole. After 54 holes the field reduces to the leading 60 professionals and ties, plus the 20 leading teams, all of whom play the final round over the Old Course at St Andrews. Play will be in fourball groups and in order to accommodate as many players as practical, all four rounds will start from both the first and tenth tees at all courses.

Entrance to the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship will be free at all three courses on Thursday, Friday and Saturday. A ticket price of £15 (concessionary £10) will be charged for the final day’s play over the Old Course on Sunday, October 7. Entry for under 16s and students is free. Tickets are available through the ticket hotline on 0844 581 4922 or at the entrance gates.