Assassins reach final of five-man team event

SIX ARBROATH teams travelled to Pettycur Bay at the weekend to compete in the national finals of the SPA five-man team event.

The Arbroath Assassins, comprising Graham Dunbar, Steve Webster George Fairweather, Stuart Smith and Gary McLeish managed to reach the final but unfortunately lost 6-4 to the Half Wits, a strong, unbeaten Glasgow side.

The Rams managed to qualify from the group stage with a 100 per cent record, and proceeded to the last 16 where they met the Half-Wits and were knocked out. Unfortunately Friction Burns also lost out in their last 16 tie.

The Hammerthrowers, Railway Legends and Different Strokes all qualified for the last 32 but were all eliminated at this stage.

The Pink Potters unfortunately failed to get out of a tough group and narrowly missed out on the knock-out stages.

The teams were as follows: The Hammerthrowers - Michael Bastow, Martin Cherry, John Fotheringham, Euan Sharpe and Drew Webster; Friction Burns - Steve Reid, Mark Gray, Richard Paterson, Tam Shepherd and Neil Walker; Railway Legends - Jim Falconer, Karl Capewell, Tam Comrie, Craig Fairweather, Grant Forsyth and Wayne Green; Different Strokes - Chris Gray, Alan Doyle, Scott Teviotdale, Paul Curran and Mark Donald; Pink Potters - Scott MacEwan, Kris Cameron, Craig Humphries, Stephen Humphries, Paul Kelly

Arbroath & District Pool League

Sidey Division One

Results: Burns Bar (1) 5, Cliffburn (1) 7; Legion (1) 4, Ram’s Heid (1) 8; Letham (1) 3, Portcullis (1) 9; Fishermans (2) 7, Portcullis (2) 5; Portcullis (3) 6, Legion (3) 6; Ram’s Heid (2) 9, Railway Inn (1) 3.

Fixtures: Cliffburn (1) v Fishermans (2); Legion (3) v Burns Bar (1) ; Portcullis (1) v Ram’s Heid (2); Portcullis (2) v Legion (1); Railway Inn (1) v Letham (1); Ram’s Heid (1) v Portcullis (3).

Division Two

Results: Cliffburn (2) 4, Burns Bar (2) 8; Pageant 5, Fishermans (1) 7; Railway Inn (2) 3, Ship Inn 9; Stag 7, Bowlers 5; Station 7, Letham (2) 5; West Port 9, Legion (2) 3.

Fixtures: Bowlers v Railway Inn (2); Burns Bar (2) v Station; Fishermans (1) v Legion (2); Letham (2) v West Port; Pageant v Stag; Ship Inn v Cliffburn (2).

Grassroots competition

This year’s Arbroath and District Pool League Grassroots competition will be played on Saturday, November 12, at the Cliffburn Hotel with a strict sign-in time of 11 a.m.

The entry fee remains at just £3, offering players great value for money. Entry forms and posters have been distributed to all captains/venues.

Rules will be the usual SPA Blackball Rules, and matches will be best of five to begin with, dependent on entries. Players should note the deadline for entries is Tuesday (November 8) to allow the draw to be carried out in advance.

This event is open to all up-and-coming registered players from all teams and to encourage as high an entry as possible. The following players are not eligible to enter: Greg Alexander, Graham Dunbar, Garry Mitchell, Davy Jack, Dave McFarlane, Gordon Dickson, Roy Middleton, Steve Hamilton, Paddy Nicoll, Jonathan Cargill, Martin Cherry, Gordon Smith, Steve Hallam, Stuart Smith, Gareth Ruxton, Steve Webster, George Fairweather, Dale Leith, Davie Williams, Ian Webster, Mark McGlashan, Colin Brown, John Fotheringham, Tam Walkinshaw, Gary McLeish and Dean Anderson.

SPA Individual Membership

The deadline for submission of names, £25 fees and contact information for the SPA Individual Membership competition is tomorrow (Saturday). Interested players should contact Michael Bastow in the first instance for more information or visit the SPA website at

Scottish Singles

The National Finals of the Scottish Singles will be played this weekend at The Red Triangle, Cumbernauld, and not the Murray Owen Centre, East Kilbride, as previously advertised. Players should note that there is a Superleague dress code for this event of polo shirt, dress trousers and black shoes.

The Arbroath contingent includes Greg Alexander, Ian Anderson, Kent Mitchell, Paddy Nicoll, Steve Reid and Davie Williams.