Arbroath Pool League 11s on their travels again

THIS weekend, Arbroath’s A and B1 teams travel to Ayr along with 46 others from all over Scotland to compete in the Scottish Pool Association’s premier team event, the Superleague 11s.

Both teams will play their first matches at 9 p.m. in their respective groups hoping to make it through to the knock-out stages on Sunday. Travel is by private car as arranged between the players.

The teams are:

Arbroath A - Gordon Smith, captain, Abbey (1); Steve Hallam, Abbey (1); Stuart Smith, Abbey (1); Gareth Ruxton, Abbey (1); Steve Webster, Portcullis (1); George Fairweather, Portcullis (1); Davie Williams, Portcullis (1); Steve Hamilton, Ram’s Heid (2); Graham Dunbar, Ram’s Heid (2); Garry Mitchell, Ram’s Heid (2); Jonathon Cargill, Ram’s Heid (2); and Colin Brown, Burns Bar (1).

Arbroath B1 - Roy Middleton, captain, Ram’s Heid (2); Dale Leith, Portcullis (1); Steve Hardwick, Portcullis (1); Scott Strachan, Abbey (1); Sandy McAllan, Abbey (1); Dave Smith, Abbey (1); Nevada Mitchell, Burns Bar (1); Brian Craig, Newgate John Fotheringham, Burns Bar (1); John Maud, Ram’s Heid (1); Ian Anderson, Station Andrew Braid, Abbey (1).

Watty’s Cues team event

The eight qualifiers for the Watty’s Cues Charity Four-Man Team event are: Burns Bar 1B - Richard Patterson, Watty Preston, Neil Walker and Nevada Mitchell; Abbey 1B - Gordon Smith, Stuart Smith, Dave Smith and S. Ross; Ship Inn - Jeff Barthorpe, Lindsay Palser, Matt Paton and Richard Crowdar; Portcullis 1A - Steve Webster, George Fairweather, Davie Williams and Dale Leith; Burns Bar 1A - Kent Mitchell, Tam Walkinshaw, Gary McLeish and Colin Brown; Station - Ian Anderson, Mark Donald, Craig Dawson and Scott Teviotdale; Ram’s Heid 2B - Greg Alexander, Garry Mitchell, Davy Jack and Jonathon Cargill; Abbey 1A - Steve Hallam, Scott Strachan, Sandy McAllan and Andrew Braid.

The finals will be held on Sunday, March 27, at the Ram’s Heid. Sign-in time is 12 noon.

The format will be two groups of four teams, each playing each other once. Each tie will consist of only four singles (no deciding double). At the end of the group stages, the top two teams will go through to the semi-finals. Teams level on points in the group stages will be decided by frame differential and, if still the same, a one-frame play-off.

The semi-finals will be four singles and a deciding double if required while the final will be the same format, but best of three frames each tie.

Perth Open Singles

The Perth Open Singles, a new event on the calendar, will be held on Saturday, April 9, at Riley’s Snooker Club in Perth city centre.

Entry fee is only £5 and the event will be run very close to the recent Tayside Singles format but with far more tables e.g., best of five frames to begin with.

Interested players can go online and put their names up, or can pay on the day. There is an 10.30 sign-in for an 11 a.m. start. All entries will be paid out plus £150 from the sponsor and a trophy.

First IM competition

Local qualifiers have already begun for the first of this year’s Scottish Pool Association IM events.

Results were - Euan Sharpe lost to Martin Cherry, 6-5; Jonathon Cargill beat Kent Mitchell, 6-5; Michael Bastow lost to Steve Webster, 6-1; Sean Hardwick lost to John Maud, 6-3; Stuart Campbell beat Scott MacEwan, 6-4; Kenny McMillan beat Paul Kelly, 6-2; Colin smith lost to Steve Hardwick, 6-0.

Outstanding fixtures are: Richard Patterson v Mark Crozier; Brian Craig v Steve Hamilton; Gordon Dickson v Watty Preston; and George Fairweather v Gareth Ruxton.

These ties must be completed as soon as possible to prevent holding up the rest of the draw.

League fixtures

Tuesday’s fixtures are as follows:

Division One: Abbey (1) v Portcullis (2); Pageant v Burns Bar (1); Portcullis (1) v Ram’s Heid (1); Ram’s Heid (2) v Newgate; Legion (3) v Stag; Railway Inn (1) v Letham (1)

Division Two: Portcullis (3) v Abbey (2); Burns Bar (2) v Bowlers; Fishermans v Legion (2); Station v Ship Inn; Victoria Bar v Legion (1); Letham (2) v Railway Inn (2).