Arbroath A reach semi-finals of Scottish Superleague 11s event

ARBROATH’S A and B1 teams enjoyed contrasting fortunes at the weekend as they competed in the Scottish Pool Association’s premier event, the Superleague 11s.

The B1 team could only manage a solitary win, beating Berwick B1 6-5, out of their five group games with two narrow 6-5 defeats and two heavier ones, which meant they did not qualify for the last 32 knock-out stage on the Sunday.

The A team, however, eventually reached the semi-final stages, before going out to Kilsyth A by 6-4.

In their group matches they won three of five, including an excellent 6-5 victory over Glasgow A, perennial favourites for these events.

In the knockout stages the team went on to beat Livingston A, 6-4, in the last 32, Coatbridge A, 6-2, in the last 16 and East Kilbride B1, 6-3, in the quarter-finals to reach the semis.

This was a very good effort considering that 48 teams from all over Scotland were vying for the title. For their efforts the team received £500 prize money.

Charity qualifier final

The finals of the Watty’s Cues Charity Four-man Team event will be held in the Ram’s Heid on Sunday. Sign-in time is 12 noon.

The eight qualifiers are as follows: Burns Bar 1B - Richard Patterson, Watty Preston, Neil Walker and Nevada Mitchell: Abbey 1B - Gordon Smith, Stuart Smith, Dave Smith and S. Ross: Ship Inn - Jeff Barthorpe, Lindsay Palser, Matt Paton and Richard Crowdar: Portcullis 1A - Steve Webster, George Fairweather, Davie Williams and Dale Leith: Burns Bar 1A - Kent Mitchell, Tam Walkinshaw, Gary McLeish and Colin Brown: Station - Ian Anderson, Mark Donald, Craig Dawson and Scott Teviotdale: Ram’s Heid 2B - Greg Alexander, Garry Mitchell, Davy Jack and Jonathon Cargill: and Abbey 1A - Steve Hallam, Scott Strachan, Sandy McAllan and Andrew Braid.

The format will be two groups of four teams, each playing each other once. Each tie will consist of only four singles (no deciding double). At the end of the group stages, the top two teams will go through to the semi-finals. Teams level on points in the group stages will be decided by frame differential and, if still the same, a one-frame play-off.

The semi-finals will be four singles and a deciding double if required while the final will be the same format, but best of three frames each tie.

Perth open singles

Fair City Skips – Perth Open Singles is an event to add to the calendar. This will take place on Saturday, April 9, at Riley’s Snooker Club in Perth city centre.

Entry fee is only £5 and the event will be run very close to the recent Tayside Singles format but with more tables e.g., best of five frames to begin with.

Interested players can go online and put their names up, or can pay on the day. There is a 10.30 sign-in for an 11 a.m. start. All entry money will be paid out plus £150 from the sponsor and a trophy.


Qualifiers have already taken place for the first of this year’s Individual Membership events.

Results were as follows:

Round one - Richard Patterson lost to Mark Crozier, 6-5; Brian Craig lost to Steve Hamilton, 6-5; Gordon Dickson beat Watty Preston, 6-5; Roy Middleton lost to Colin Brown, 6-1.

Outstanding first round fixture - George Fairweather v Gareth Ruxton.

This tie must be completed as soon as possible to prevent holding up the rest of the draw.

Round two - Graham Dunbar beat Martin Cherry, 6-2.

Outstanding second round fixtures - Jonathon Cargill v Mark Crozier; Paddy Nicoll v Steve Webster; Steve Hamilton v John Maud; Greg Alexander v Gordon Dickson; Stuart Campbell v Kenny McMillan.

Division One

Results: Abbey (1) 7, Portcullis (2) 5; Pageant 5, Burns Bar (1) 7; Portcullis (1) 6, Ram’s Heid (1) 6; Ram’s Heid (2) 7, Newgate 5; Legion (3) 5, Stag 7; Railway Inn (1) 5, Letham (1) 7.

Fixtures: Pageant v Portcullis (2); Portcullis (1) v Burns Bar (1); Ram’s Heid (1) v Newgate; Legion (3) v Ram’s Heid (2); Railway Inn (1) v Stag; Abbey (1) v Letham (1).

Division Two

Results: Portcullis (3) 12, Abbey (2) 0; Burns Bar (2) 7, Bowlers 5; Fishermans 6, Legion (2) 6; Station 5, Ship Inn 7; Bye 0, Legion (1) 12; Letham (2) 5, Railway Inn (2) 7.

Fixtures: Burns Bar (2) v Abbey (2); Fishermans v Bowlers Station v Legion (2); Letham (2) v Legion (1); Portcullis (3) v Railway Inn (2); Ship Inn, bye.