Alan makes his Lakeside debut

editorial image

FLYING Dutchman Willy van de Wiel extinguished the hopes of Arbroath fireman Alan Soutar at the Lakeside World Professional Darts Championship. A scoreline of 3-1 after an absorbing 44-minute encounter saw the Scot crash out of the competition.

The 28-year-old  from Rijen in the south west part of the Netherlands, displayed gritty determination to battle back from 1-0 down, hitting four 180s to take charge of the first round clash.

The Dutch  player, who was a member of the 2009 Netherlands World Cup winning squad, seemed unfazed by the fast-throwing Soutar who was making his Lakeside debut.

Afterwards he admitted: “It was not a good match for me and I need to play a lot better in my next match. Alan played well considering it was his first appearance here at Lakeside.”

The 32-year-old Arbroathian, who plays for the Fisherman’s Inn and is a member of the Angus county team, swept to the opening set 3-0 in just eight minutes as the Dutchman struggled to settle.

But the orange-shirted 28-year-old Dutch carpenter turned the screw in the next as he defended his throwing advantage to level the match.

Soutar led the third but the man from the Low Countries levelled and then hit two 180s as he finished in 11 darts to move into a 2-1 lead. 

But Van de Wiel failed to nail home the advantage when he hit bull and single 19 to burst his required 61.

The Scot coolly exited on double six but the Dutchman wrapped up the set for a 2-1 match lead with double 12.

Throwing first in the fourth set the Dutch sharpshooter blasted in a 180 and although Soutar took the next leg, Van de Wiel fired in double top to move within one leg of victory as the shell-shocked Scot watched in desperation.

The Dutchman, displaying no sign of emotion as Soutar missed a match-saving double top, needed just two darts to wrap up the game with single nine, double eight for a match-winning average a shade under 29 per dart.

Colin M Smith

Arbroath and District Men’s Darts League

Premier Division

Results: Fishermans (2) 10, Portcullis (1) 2; Burns Bar (2) 8, Burns Bar (1) 4; St Tams 4, Newgate 8.

P W D L Pts

Fishermans (2) 7 6 0 1 12

Burns Bar (1) 7 5 0 2 10

Burns Bar (2) 7 4 1 2 9

Portcullis (1) 7 3 0 4 6

Newgate 7 2 0 5 4

St Tams 7 0 1 6 1

First Division

Results: Legion (1) 7, Fishermans (1) 5; Abbey (2) 8, Abbey (1) 4; Lorne 5, Ram’s Heid 7.

P W D L Pts

Fishermans (1) 7 3 2 2 8

Abbey (1) 7 3 2 2 8

Legion (1) 7 3 1 3 7

Ram’s Heid 7 2 3 2 7

Lorne 7 0 6 1 6

Abbey (2) 7 2 2 3 6

Second Division

Results: Tutties 4, Station Bar 8; Portcullis (2) 6, Legion (2) 6; Commercial (L) 12, Bowlers 0.

P W D L Pts

Commercial (L) 6 6 0 0 12

Portcullis (2) 7 3 3 1 9

Legion (2) 6 2 4 0 8

Station Bar 7 1 4 2 6

Tutties 7 1 2 4 4

Bowlers 7 0 1 6 1

180 scorers: S. May, A. Low and S. McCormack.

Low legs, 14 darts – J. Balfour.

High checkouts, 102 – C. Tosh; 104 – S. McCormack; 105 – B. Reid; and 118 – D. McKenzie senior.

Peem Pearson

Qualifying games for the Peem Pearson competition will be played on Monday night at four venues across the town.

Each venue will play down to one team, with the four qualifiers making up the semi-final draw list on finals night. Teams must register with three players before 8 p.m. and all teams are reminded that players cannot switch teams under any circumstances.

Burns Bar: Fishermans (1B) R. Baker; Burns Bar (2A) J. Ross; Burns Bar (2C) C. Watt; Burns Bar (2B) B. Reid; Fishermans (2B) A. Soutar; Commercial (L A) A. Culley; Legion (2A) M. Shepherd; Bowlers (B) S. Park; Newgate (A) C. Dell; Station Bar (A) N. Guthrie.

Referee: Alan Soutar.

Portcullis: Legion (2B) T. Paul; Abbey (1B) S. Lavery; Abbey (2C) S. Simpson; Portcullis (1C) I. Christie; Portcullis (2A) W. Craib; Lorne (B) J. Hajda; Portcullis (1B) S. Cook; Ram’s Heid (B) S. McCormack; St Tams (A) E. Collier; Station Bar D. Seivewright.

Referee: Sandy McCormack.

Fishermans: Abbey (2A) B. Russell; Fishermans (1A) C. Paterson; Fishermans (2C) G. Duncan; Fishermans (2B) A. McEwan; Abbey (1A) A. Whitton; Burns Bar (1B) J. Cooper; Lorne (C) G. Cull; Ram’s Heid (A) G. Soutar; Abbey (2B) W. Whitson.

Referee: Mike Elder.

Legion: Burns Bar (1A) S. Cooper; Burns Bar (1C) J. Balfour; Legion (1A) N. Wight; Bowlers (A) J. Duncan; Lorne (A) I. McAllan; St Tams (B) A. Findlay; Portcullis (1A0 F. Cook; Commercial (L B) G. Walls; Ram’s Heid (C) C. Innes.

Referee: Adam Findlay.

All results should be texted to the darts mobile on 07528 249 922 on the night of the match.


All the latest results, fixtures and league tables can be found at

Arbroath and district Ladies’ Darts League

Division One

Fixtures: Pageant (2) v Portcullis (1); Millgate v Bowlers; Portcullis (2) v Cricket Club; British Legion v Fisherman’s; St Tam’s (1) v LBC.

Division Two

Fixtures: Ram’s Heid (1) v Burns (1); Victoria v Letham Hotel; Burns (2) v Pageant (1); Ship v St Tam’s (2); Lorne v Tutties.

Division Three

Fixtures: Commercial v Abbey (1); Newgate v Ram’s Heid (2); Letham v Railway; Foundry v Station; Abbey (2), free week.