Trio of Lichties in team of the year

editorial image

THREE Arbroath players have made it into the PFA Scotland Second Division team of the year.

Defender Mark Baxter, midfielder Josh Falkingham and striker Steven Doris (pictured) have been named in the best XI of the season.

The team is chosen based on their fellow player’s votes and each player gets a medal to commemorate their achievement.

The announcement is another boost for Steven Doris as he is also in the running to be named PFA Scotland Second Division Player of the Year.

The winner of that award will be announced at a ceremony in Glasgow on Sunday evening.

The full PFA Scotland Division Two team of the year is: Stephen Grindlay, Dumbarton; Mark Baxter, Arbroath; Joe Mbu, Cowdenbeath; John Armstrong, Cowdenbeath; Kenny Adamson, Cowdenbeath; Josh Falkingham, Arbroath; Jon Robertson, Cowdenbeath; Scott Agnew, Dumbarton; Ryan Donnelly, Airdrie United; Steven Doris, Arbroath and Ryan Wallace, East Fife.