Think your eyesight is better than a referee’s?

TWO OF the Scottish Football Association’s top referees will visit Arbroath on Tuesday (April 10) to have their eyesight checked.

Steven McLean and Matt Northcroft will visit Arbroath FC ahead of the local derby against Forfar next Saturday (April 14) in order to get a vision check from the local Specsavers store.

Mr McLean, who as well as being an active category one referee is also a recruitment and education manager for the Scottish Football Association, will also be taking questions on how people can train to become a match official. Members of the public can also get their eyes checked at the event, which takes place at Gayfield on Tuesday at 2 p.m.

Everyone who attends will be entered into a draw to win two free match tickets for an Arbroath game. If you would like to attend simply drop an email to to register your interest.

Specsavers has assisted with the training and development of referees across Scotland since 2002. The company also supports the Scottish FA’s Focus on Football initiative, aimed at promoting the positive aspects of Scottish football as well as building better relationships between players, coaches and match officials.


New season at Newgate

THE GENTS season gets under, way on Saturday, April 14, with the annual president v. vice-president opening game.

Members are required to attend at 2 p.m. for a 2.30 p.m. start. The game will be followed by an evening of entertainment and music by Lamplight.

The first gents’ friendly home and away games are on Saturday, April 21, against Invergowrie.

Meanwhile the ladies get under way on Sunday, April 15, with their annual president v. vice-president opening game.

Members are required to attend at 2 p.m. for a 2.30 p.m. start.

The first ladies friendly game takes place on Wednesday, April 25, at home to Abbey.

Tomorrow (Saturday) the ladies will also hold a coffee morning from 10 a.m. All are welcome.

Office bearers elected are as follows:

Gents – Willie Johnston, president; John Stirling, vice-president; Charlie Cooper, past president; Tom Reid, junior vice-president; Dave Hodgens, secretary; Gibby Lawson, treasurer; Ray Anderson, bar treasurer; Tom Pullar, match secretary; Brian Sibley, curator.

The management committee consists of Charlie Cooper, Alex Cargill, Alex Napier, Jim Watt and Ian Teviotdale.

The selection committee is Willie Johnston, Dave Hodgens, Tom Pullar, Harry Burnett, Alan Caird and Jim Spence. Ladies – Barbara Park, president; Linda Cargill, vice-president; Ruth Ferguson, past president; Audrey Johnston, secretary; Barbara Park, treasurer; Irene Hill, match secretary.

Committee members are Sharon Caird, Janice Robertson, Norma Spence and Isobel Anderson.