Hayshead win Watters Cup

Hayshead 2,

Timmergreens 0

HAYSHEAD were the winners in an exciting and open Watters Cup final against Timmergreens at Gayfield last Wednesday.

Second half goals from Callum Black secured the trophy for his school with his second effort a cool lob over the ‘keeper which bounced into the roof of the net.

In the first half, chances came and went with Timmergreens looking dangerous on the counter attack.

But the breakthrough came for Hayshead midway through the second half with BLACK taking the ball through the defence to poke home into the corner of the net.

Timmergreens came back strongly and were unfortunate not to equalise after sweeping moves down the wing.

However, Hayshead held on and the late goal, again by BLACK, ended the tie.

The winners received the cup from Arbroath FC chairman John Christison and secretary Gary Callon, which was the 99th time it has been presented.

Timmergreens then received their runners-up award, the Peggy Spink Memorial trophy.

Schools including Friockheim, Muirfield, Inverbrothock, Ladyloan, St Thomas and Warddykes also competed in this year’s competition which saw a total of 45 goals being scored.

The Arbroath Primary School Sport Association thanked Arbroath FC for their support and all of the school coaches who gave up their time throughout the school year.

The next schools’ competition takes place on Saturday, May 21, when the Ed Smith Tournament is contested and Hayshead and Inverbrothock.