Success and achievement recognised at the High School

editorial image

ARBROATH High School held their annual prize-giving ceremony last Wednesday night when rector Iain Orr welcomed pupils, parents and principal guest Brian Stormont, editor of the Arbroath Herald.

Mr Orr said the evening’s purpose was to celebrate and acknowledge publicly the successes and achievements of all the prize-winners.

He also thanked all of the teaching and support staff for their hard work and dedication.

Prize-winners were as follows:

Head boy, Kerr Barrack; head girl, Rebecca Crabb; James Sim Gordon Cup (Awarded for Craftmanship), Blair Scott; Nelson Cup for outstanding ability in art and design, Callum Wilson; Nelson Cup for outstanding ability in hospitality, Thomas Irvine; Brett Cup for outstanding ability in music, Evan Hill; Arbroath 400 Trophy, Ailsa Wallace; Young Musician of the Year, Kerr Barrack; Service to the School, Mrs Carole Munro and John Ogilvie Cup, Mrs Edna Hepburn.

Medalists: Art and design (Edinburgh Angus Club), Lauren McNaught; business management (Dundee University), Aimee Cummings; biology (Edinburgh Angus Club), Paul Rattray; chemistry (Dr Alan Fraser Award), Craig Balfour; computing (AHS PTA), Paul Rattray; English (Harriet R Roger Scholarship), Joanna Milne; French (Ian Strachan Memorial Fund), Chloe Cornthwaite; geography (Edinburgh Angus Club), John Robson; geology (Edinburgh Angus Club), Janice Norrie; graphical communication (The Voigt Patnership), Angus Milne; history (Arbroath Abbey Timethemes), April Hunter; health and food technology (Arbroath Guildry Incorporation), Christine McLoughlin; information systems (AHS PTA), Thomas Irvine; mathematics (JJ Whyte Medal), Craig Balfour; music (Arbroath Round Table), April Hunter; physical education (Arbroath Guildry Incorporation), Dean Hill; physics (Edinburgh Angus Club), John Robson; product design (Arbroath Round Table), Guy Clark; psychology (Angus College), Emma Finch; religoius, moral and philosophical (Rotary Club of Arbroath), Samatha McLaren; science (Jim Bigham Award), Blair Wallace; runner-up to Dux S5 (presented by the Fordyce family), Craig Balfour and Dux of S5 (given by the late Ernest F Cobb), Paul Rattray.

Athletic championship trophy winners: 100m senior boys - McBain Cup, Graham Brown; 100m senior girls - C W Riddler Cup, April Hunter; 200m senior girls - Olive Laybourne Trophy, April Hunter; 400m senior boys - McQuillan Cup, Nicky Sim; 400m senior girls, April Hunter; 800m junior boys - McIntosh Rosebowl, Josh Chalmers; 800m junior girls - C W Riddler Cup - Ellen Robertson; 1500m senior boys - Rutherford Lindsay Carnegie Cup, Ross Croall;1500m senior girls - former pupil, April Hunter; first year girls’ champion - PTA Cup, Anna Robertson; first year boys’ champion - PTA Cup, Finn Sutherland; second year girls ‘champion – Athletics Cup, Courtney Marsden; second year boys’ champion - Athletics Cup, Malcolm Beaton; third year girls’ champion - Oliver Rosebowl, Ellen Robertson; third year boy’s champion - Northesk Cup, Josh Chalmers; S1 girls’ cross-country - Kathy Jukes Memorial Trophy, Georgia Ferry; S1 boys cross-country, Scott Milne; S2 girls’ cross-country, Robert Stuart Memorial Cup, Courtney Marsden; S2 boys’ cross-country, Hamish Sutherland; senior girls’ champion - Matthew Cup, April Hunter; senior boys’ champion - Jamieson Cup, Graham Brown and Judith Walker Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Sporting Performance, Christine McLoughlin.

Merit prizes - S1 presented by Arbroath High School Finance committee: Leah Bow, Daniel Burnett, Rosie Burton, Siobhan Dear, Alannah Dorward, Dervla Duncan-Cox, Kate Fraser, Megan Freeburn, Rhiannon Grant, Georgia Kelly, Sophie Martin, Euan Mckay, Robert McLaren, Hannah Robb, Emily Rooney, Rachel Sim, Lewis Smith, Jordan Swankie, Kirsty Thomson and Luka Van Wees.

S2 presented by Arbroath High School Parent Teacher Association: Jennifer Anderson,Ellie Baker, Jack Bremner, Abigail Brewer, Kirsten Brown, Aimee Brownlie, Charlotte Cairney, Chloe Cuthill, Fergal Duncan-Cox, Calum Forbes, Logan Lorimer, Connor MacKenzie, Colin MacNab, Caitlin McFarlane, Jessica McIntosh, Rhianne Menmuir, Rachel Milne, Cameron Owens, Rowanne Ramsay, Stephen Roberts, Greg Robson and Sydney Thomson.

S3 presented by Arbroath Guildry Incorporation: Robert Anderson, Kimberley Cadger, Rebecca Clark, Ellie Crabb, Fionnaigh Ewing, Bethany Gallacher, Niamh Hill, Emma Longmuir, Erin Moir, Rory Morrow, Scott Newell, Madison Randles, Ellen Robertson, Kate Shepherd, Charlotte Sim, Rebecca Spink and Kelsey Waugh.

S4 presented by Arbroath Guildry Incorporation: Devon Adam, Abbie Anderson Lauren Breach, Ross Cargill, Rhys Cuthbert, Nadine Dorward, Gemma Harrison, Carla Ingram, Kirsty McDonald, Ruaridh Mathieson, Beth Milne, Duncan Patullo, Karina Rattray, Abby Serna, Holli Soutar and Caitlin Spink.