SNP regains control of Angus Council

THE SNP has regained control of Angus Council. They have won the 15 seats they needed to form the Administration which has been run by Alliance for the last five years.

The Nationalists made the ideal start taking six seats in the first three wards and they went on to get the total required to boss the authority.

Timeline was as follows:

11.15 a.m.: Ronnie Proctor said: “I would just like to thank all the counting staff for all their hard work and also my helpers and the people of Kirriemuir for voting for me. Thank you.”

Ian Gall added: “I would also like to put my thanks across to all those who helped.”

11.38 a.m.: Brechin and Edzell result comes in with Mairi Evans, Bob Myles and Jim Houston elected.

Mairi Evans said: “I just want to say a huge thank you. I’m just so touched and heartened to receive this responsibility. Also a massive congratulations to Jim Houston too. I just can’t wait to get started again. Thank you so much.”

12 noon: SNP greet result from Forfar and District with great joy as they rack up their third straight win. Lynne Devine and Glennis Middleton elected, along with independents, Colin Brown and Ian McLaren.

12.20 p.m.: Monifieth and Sidlaw sees Craig Fotheringham, Conservative, Margaret Thomson, Labour, and the SNP’s Sheila Hands and Rob Murray elected.

1 p.m.: Elected in Carnoustie and District are independents Brian Boyd and Bill Bowles, along the SNP’s Helen Oswald.

With four wards to be declared (12 seats), make up is: SNP - 9 seats; Independents - 5; Conservatives - 2; Labour 1.

Or, alternatively - SNP 9, Everyone else - 8.

1.20 p.m.: SNP’s Alex King and Ewan Smith elected in Arbroath West and Letham along with independent David Fairweather and Conservative David Lumgair.

The big shock in that result is the ousting of Peter Nield who was education convener in the last Alliance administration.

1.45 p.m.: The SNP remain on course to take control of the council by winning two seats on Arbroath East and Lunan.

Donald Morrison and Sheena Welsh are elected, along with Bob Spink, independent, and Martyn Geddes, Conservative.

2.05 p.m.: Joy for the SNP as Bill Duff and Paul Valentine win seats in Montrose to bring up the magic number fo 15 which gives them control. Also elected in Montrose are David May, Lib Dems, and independent Mark Salmond.

Remember, we will have full coverage in our newspaper next week.


Kirriemuir and Dean – Three councillors to be elected.

Alison Andrews, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Iain Gaul, Scottish National Party - 1,301, elected first round

Jeanette Gaul, Scottish National Party - 333, elected fourth round

Ronnie Proctor, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 1,375, elected first round.

Turnout: 41.6%. Rejected ballots: 78.


Brechin and Edzell – Three councillors to be elected.

Janet Cowan, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Mairi Evans, Scottish National Party - 1,145, first round.

Jane Ferguson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Jim Houston, Scottish National Party - 459, fifth round.

Douglas Murray, Independent

Bob Myles, Independent - 631, fourth round.

Turnout: 38.61%. Rejected ballots: 62.


Forfar and District – Four councillors to be elected

Charlie Brown, Independent

Colin Brown, Independent - 787, fifth round.

Lynne Devine, Scottish National Party - 986, first round.

Ian McLaren, Independent - 341, fifth round.

Glennis Middleton, Scottish National Party - 928, first round.

John Rymer, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Avril Simpson, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Turnout: 44.3%. Rejected ballots: 53.


Monifieth and Sidlaw – Four councillors to be elected

Craig Fotheringham, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 1,171, first round.

Sheila Hands, Scottish National Party - 1,160, first round.

Rob Murray, Scottish National Party - 1,126, first round.

Liz Petrie, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Sandy Ritchie, Scottish National Party

Margaret Thomson, Scottish Labour Party - 960, fifth round.

Turnout: 42.87%


Carnoustie and District – Three councillors to be elected

Lorraine Barthorpe, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Bill Bowles, Independent - 483, sixth round.

Brian Boyd, Independent - 1,750, first round.

Adam Cormie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Fiona Gibb, Scottish National Party

Helen Oswald, Scottish National Party - 1,029, second round.

Hamid Rasheed, Scottish Labour Party

Turnout: 44.5%


Arbroath West and Letham – Four councillors to be elected

Kevin Barthorpe, Scottish Liberal Democrats

David Fairweather, Independent - 747, fifth round.

Alex King, Scottish National Party - 1,033, first round.

David Lumgair, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 960, first round.

Alec Mollison, Scottish Labour Party

Peter Nield, Independent

Ewan Smith, Scottish National Party - 653, seventh round.

Ian Watson, Independent


Arbroath East and Lunan – Four councillors to be elected

Martyn Geddes, Scottish Conservative and Unionist - 547, sixth round.

Ginny Graham, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Donald Morrison, Scottish National Party - 766, first round.

Bob Spink, Independent - 955, first round.

Alastair Stuart, Scottish Labour Party

Sheena Welsh, Scottish National Party - 858, first round.

Turnout: 33.6%


Montrose and District – Four councillors to be elected

Andrew Boyd, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Bill Duff, Scottish National Party - 815, first round.

David May, Scottish Liberal Democrats - 642, sixth round.

Ina Paton, Scottish Labour Party

Mark Salmond, Independent - 891, first round.

Paul Valentine, Scottish National Party - 726, fourth round.