Brenda Durno wins Arbroath East and Lunan seat

editorial image

Brenda Durno, SNP, has been elected to serve as a councillor for Arbroath East and Lunan (ward seven).

Voting for the by-election took place yesterday (Monday), with the count carried out at Angus House, Forfar, this morning.

Turn out for the by-election was 21.5%, with 2668 votes cast out of a possible 12,386.

Brenda Durno polled 919 first preference votes, while other candidates received the following:-

Derek Wann, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, 709 votes.

Lois Elizabeth Speed, Independent, 452 votes.

Kevin Smith, Independent, 309 votes.

John Ruddy, Scottish Labour Party, 177 votes.

Richard Stanley Moore, Scottish Liberal Democrats, 60 votes.

A total of 42 ballot papers were rejected.