NSPCC celebrates Academy teacher’s dedication

Nick Brain (centre) with Peter Wanless, NSPCC CEO (left); and HRH Countess of Wessex
Nick Brain (centre) with Peter Wanless, NSPCC CEO (left); and HRH Countess of Wessex

The NSPCC has recognised the dedication and commitment of its volunteers at the charity’s first ever Childhood Champion Awards.

Winners included teacher Nick Brain, 30, from Arbroath, who was awarded the ChildLine volunteer of the year. His achievements included making a weekly 100 mile round trip for his ChildLine shifts as well as supporting his peers by passing on his knowledge and experience.

The winners were presented with their awards on Wednesday at The Banking Hall in London by Royal Patron of ChildLine and NSPCC President, HRH the Countess of Wessex alongside ChildLine founder Dame Esther Rantzen and NSPCC Chief Executive Peter Wanless.

Nick, who teaches at Arbroath Academy, has volunteered for the late shift in the Aberdeen base every Tuesday for two years and a half years.

He said: “I’m just really chuffed. I’m very glad to be here and it’s been great to meet all of the other volunteers who have been nominated. It has been a wonderful experience.”

Dame Esther Rantzen said: “One of the most enjoyable tasks I have ever been asked to undertake was to read the nominations for our volunteer champions. I was hugely impressed and inspired by all of them. ChildLine and the NSPCC would not exist without them. The children they have helped would love to be able to thank them personally. I am delighted to have the opportunity to express my deep gratitude, on their behalf.”

Peter Wanless, CEO of NSPCC added: “Our Childhood Champion Awards are our chance to say thank you to some of our most dedicated volunteers. Their efforts really are outstanding and we would not be organisation we are today without them. A huge well done to all those who were nominated and won today and a big thanks to all of our volunteers.”

All the nominees were recommended by fellow NSPCC volunteers and staff across the country in categories including schools volunteer of the year, frontline volunteer of the year and ChildLine volunteer of the year amongst others.

The winners were selected by a judging panel that included Dame Esther Rantzen, NSPCC CEO Peter Wanless and Derren Heyes who is editor of Children and Young People Now.