Leisure awards

Leisure Centre staff around Angus have been rewarded for outstanding service at an awards ceremony at the Kirriemuir Town Hall on Friday.

Staff in each of the eight leisure centre sites voted for fellow staff members to be their facility employee of the year.

Awards were given to Darryl Cargill (Arbroath Sports Centre), Laura Sanger (Carnoustie Leisure Centre), Linda Brown (Brechin Leisure Centre), Sarah Cumming (Forfar Swimming Pool), Gillian Keay (Lochside Leisure Centre), John Brand (Montrose Sports Centre), Katrina Norrie (Saltire Leisure Centre) and Lesley McVicar (Websters Sports Centre)

In a great year for Angus Leisure facilities Brechin Leisure Centre was awarded the facility of the year for 2014.

Making the awards, the council’s vice-convener of Communities, Councillor Jeanette Gaul, said: “I am delighted to recognise the employees of the year in our indoor leisure facilities.

“In Angus, we have some excellent sporting and leisure facilities which cater for all ages and abilities and the hard work and dedication of the staff is of critical importance in making them run smoothly and efficiently.

“I congratulate not only today’s winners, but all the many other employees who contribute to the successful running of the leisure facilities.”