Angus Access Panel annual meeting

THE CHAIRMAN of Angus Access Panel reported on another busy year at the annual general meeting held in the Community Education wing of Forfar Academy last Thursday.

Office-bearers elected were: chairman, Mrs Agnes Mackay; vice-chairman, Mrs Marian Shepherd; secretary and treasurer, Miss Marion Elrick; local burgh representatives - Bill McLeod, Forfar; David Dewar, Brechin and Arbroath; Margaret and Malcolm Morrison, Carnoustie and Monifieth; Margaret Bowler, Montrose; and Campbell Thomson and Marian Shepherd, landward areas.

The meeting heard that there is a vacancy for Kirriemuir, and the panel would welcome volunteers. Mrs Pam Apted is occupational therapist on the panel, and Mr Ian Flanigan represents the Guide Dog Association. Councillor John Rymer represents Angus councillors.

The speaker for the evening was Mrs Katy Webster, centre manager, Angus Carers, who gave an account of the carers’ activities and current projects.