Glittering ceremony planned for awards

ANGUS folk are being urged to turn out to help celebrate the county’s sporting stars as they step into the spotlight for their annual sports awards ceremony at the Reid Hall, Forfar, on Tuesday, March 6.

Angus Council sports development is honouring the commitment, achievements and dedication of individuals and teams involved in sport across Angus during 2011.

The ceremony is presented by the council’s sports development team in association with Angus Ahead, the area’s marketing campaign set up to fly the flag for the county at home and abroad.

The Roll of Honour for the Angus Sports Awards is as follows.

Sports Personality of the Year sponsored by Auchterhouse Country Sports: Claire Pirie, speed skating; Greg Drummond, curling; and Mark Shepherd, swimming.

Young Sports Personality of the Year: Duncan Menzies, curling; Madeline Owen, running; Laura Black, netball; Nicola Duncan, gymnastics; Callum Edwards, athletics; Kirstin Mitchelson, highland dancing; Isla Mitchelson, highland dancing; Ashley Thomson, swimming; Ellen Robertson, athletics; Nicky Sim, basketball; Yhana Van Wees, basketball; Kelly Clark, football; Jessica Meek, golf; and Ailsa Summers, golf.

Coach of the Year: Jim Houghton, table tennis; Paul Boath, basketball; Kim Dalgarno, ten pin bowling; Graeme Walker, tennis; Kirsten Cameron, football; Derek Nisbet, swimming; Frank Cooper, curling; Laura Baxter, football; Marion Durham, swimming; Fraser Burnett, cricket; Lynda Sim, netball; Calum Owens, rugby; Murray Duguid, rugby; and Laura MacFarlane, basketball.

Team of the Year: Forfar Farmington Ladies Division Two team; Tayside Musketeers Cadet Men Under-16; Arbroath United Cricket Club third XI; Arbroath United Cricket Club first XI; Arbroath Gymnastics Club Display Team; Monarchs Hockey Club National League Division Four team; Team Lesley Young; Arbroath St Thomas Premier League team; Arbroath High School S1 netball team; and Arbroath High School curling team

Sports Personality of the Year Award for people with a disability: Daniel Brownlee, swimming; Michael Hands, swimming; Jamie Black, ten pin bowling; Martin Cassidy, bowling; Ian Bradford, table tennis; Neil Grant, football; Paul Radunski, football; and Martin Ross, football.

Service to Sport Award: Laura Smith, various; Yvonne Robertson, rugby; Neil Valentine, swimming; Jill Donald, curling; Andy Robbie, football; and Caroline Campbell, rugby.

The selection panel will meet to finalise short lists and winners for each award category and these will be announced at the awards ceremony. All nominees and nominators have been invited to attend the ceremony that is hosted and broadcast by Radio Tay.

Event organisers are delighted to announce that they have secured a special guest speaker for this year’s awards in home grown modern pentathlete, Louise Helyer and guests will also enjoy a three-course meal following the presentations.

Contact 01307 474243 or to book your place at this star-studded occasion.