Blue light parade as Tayside forces bow out

editorial image

TAYSIDE emergency services are today (Monday) marking their transition to national single services with a formal ceremony in Perth.

The final meeting of the joint boards for Tayside Police and Tayside Fire and Rescue Service prior to their merger with other regional forces will be marked by a blue-light parade of emergency vehicles through Perth at 11.45 a.m. and the official handover of the forces’ crests.

Local dignitaries including Angus Provost Helen Oswald, Chief Constable Justine Curran and Fire Chief Officer Dave Boyle will join Dundee Deputy Provost Christina Roberts and Perth Provost Liz Grant outside the council buildings in Tay Street.

On April 1 all Scottish regional police services will merge to become the Police Service of Scotland and their counterparts in the fire and rescue service will become the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service as per the 2012 Police and Fire Reform (Scotland) Act.

Chief Constable Curran said: “It has been an absolute honour to serve as Chief Constable of Tayside Police and build on the legacy of high quality local policing in this area and I am immensely proud of what we have achieved.

“Crime is down, the fear of crime is down and public satisfaction continues to grow.

“Today marks the end of an era and the beginning of a new chapter in Scottish policing. I know that the communities of Tayside will continue to be served by professional and committed officers and staff and who will continue to go that extra mile to provide the type of local policing our communities expect and deserve and to make a difference.”

Chief Fire Officer Dave Boyle added: “As Chief Fire Officer it gives me great pleasure to formally recognise the support that Tayside Fire Brigade and Tayside Fire and Rescue has received from the communities of Angus, Dundee and Perth and Kinross since our creation in 1975.

“As we move towards the commencement of the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service, we look forward to strengthening our connections with the communities we serve.”