Concert a fitting tribute to popular musical director

Multi-talented Scottish baritone Gordon Cree was one of the guest performers.
Multi-talented Scottish baritone Gordon Cree was one of the guest performers.

Arbroath Male Voice Choir bade a fond farewell to their musical director Sheena Guthrie at their 82nd annual concert in the Webster Memorial Theatre.

Choir accompanist Brian Hirst, along with choir members, had penned words to the well-known songs, including‘ Now is the hour’and ‘We’ll meet again’, which recorded just how much value had been put on Ms Guthrie’s association with the choir.

It was fitting that the choir had chosen as their guests the acclaimed international mezzo-soprano Cheryl Forbes and her husband, multi-talented Scottish baritone Gordon Cree, who had guested at the first concert with Ms Guthrie at the helm when she took over the baton five years ago.

Miss Forbes opened her programme with one of the mezzo soprano’s most popular arias ‘Mon Coeur s’ouvre a ta voix’ (Softly Awakes my heart) from Saint Saens Samson & Delilah, and three songs related closely to the late Kathleen Ferrier were very much enjoyed. Mr Cree’s rich baritone voice was heard from the wings and he strode onto stage singing the Peter Dawson favourite ‘Gay Highway’.

The audience was treated to fabulous renditions of favourites and Mr Cree closed his programme with ‘Loch Maree’ before joining his wife in the duet ‘Old Fashioned Wedding’ from ‘Annie get your gun.’

Throughout both singers were superbly accompanied by Julia Lynch. Mr Gordon Law, choir president gave a comprehensive vote of thanks and gifts were presented to Ms Guthrie and to Mr Hirst and guests.

Choir members this season: Messrs Gordon Law, Willie Arbuckle, Ross Henderson, Graeme Cant, Alan Whyte, Flint McCullough, Bruce Simpson, Jay Ferrier, Brian Kelly, Graeme May, Ian Fleming, Charles Jarvis, Douglas Burt, Richard Irvine, Willie Lawrie, Mike Mechan, Colin Hunter, Bill Reid, Brian Cummings, Ian Stewart, Tom Swan, George Wishart, Campbell Wilbourn, Ken Lownie. Jim Penman, Duncan Hunter, Dave Whitton, Rodger Brunton, Des Nicoll, Alan Esselmont, Ron Watson, Steve Cargill, Alan Smith, Syd Smith and Danny Martin.