Candidates named for Arbroath East and Lunan election

The Scottish Parliament election is on Thursday, May 5.
The Scottish Parliament election is on Thursday, May 5.

The candidates for the Arbroath East and Lunan by-election have been confirmed, ahead of the vote on Monday, November 28.

Polling will take place between 7am and 10pm on Monday, November 28, for a councillor to be elected.

The by-election follows the resignation of Councillor Bob Spink for health reasons.

Only people aged 16 or over on the day of the poll who are registered to vote and living within the ward are eligible to vote.

The candidates are as follows;–

Brenda Durno, Scottish National Party

Richard Stanley Moore, Scottish Liberal Democrats

John Ruddy, Scottish Labour Party

Kevin Smith, Independent

Lois Elizabeth Speed, Independent

Derek Wann, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Polling takes place on a Monday. While normally held on a Thursday, the returning officer felt it practical to take advantage of the in-service day on Monday, November 28. This means there will be no disruption to the school day.

For voters who are not registered, applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer (ERO) at Ravenswood, New Road, Forfar, DD8 2ZA, by Thursday, November 10. Applications can also be made online at

Any elector may apply for a postal or proxy vote at this by-election. New applications to vote by post and applications to amend or cancel an existing postal or proxy vote must reach the ERO at the above address by 5pm on Friday, November 11. New applications to vote by proxy must reach the ERO by 5pm on Friday, November 18.

Applications to vote by proxy at this by-election applied for on grounds of physical incapacity, where that physical incapacity occurred after 5pm on Friday 18 November, must reach the ERO by 5pm on Monday, November 28.

For advice on postal or proxy voting, you can contact the ERO on 01307 462416, or email