Angus Council candidates named

editorial image

THE CANDIDATES contesting the up coming Angus Council election for the Arbroath area have been revealed.

The two Arbroath wards hold eight seats on Angus Council and all candidates had to submit their intention to stand in the election on Thursday.

Contesting the Arbroath West and Letham ward are current council members, David Fairweather, Independent; Alex King, SNP; David Lumgair, Conservatives and Peter Nield; Independent.

Running against them will be, Kevin Barthorpe, Liberal Democrats; Alec Mollison, Labour; Ewan Smith, SNP and Ian Watson, Independent.

In Arbroath East and Lunan running again for election are, Donald Morrison, SNP; Bob Spink, Independent and Sheena Welsh, SNP.

Also standing are Martyn Geddes, Conservatives; Ginny Graham, Liberal Democrats and Alistair Stuart, Labour.

In total there are 50 candidates standing for the 29 seats available across Angus.

The election takes place on Thursday, May 3.

To be able to vote in these elections you must be 18 years of age or over on the day of the election and be registered to vote.

Since May, 2007, councillors have been elected using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system which allows voters to express a preference for more than one candidate.

It is a form of proportional representation which uses preferential voting in multi-member wards.

Preferential voting means that instead of casting a single vote for a single candidate, you can rank the candidates on the ballot paper in your order of preference by putting a ‘1’ in the voting box next to your first choice, ‘2’ in the box next to your second choice and so on.

You can vote for as many or as few candidates as you wish.